PDA

View Full Version : HELP!! My computer is NOT working!!!!!


eggzbacon
08-29-2009, 12:31 PM
So I just downloaded Snow Leopard and I clicked on the Krazy Kart link on the first post in the thread to see if it was available yet but then iTunes and Safari "quit unexpectedly" so I tried to open them up but then it still quit. So I restarted my computer and then it restarted and stuff but then it's stuck on the screen and all I see is the Aurora wallpaper and the bar on top was invisible but it showed the time and wifi. I don't know what happened so can someone help me??

On my iPod btw

Lombardo
08-29-2009, 12:35 PM
I assume you have a mac.... theres always the support line you could call.

yas
08-29-2009, 01:00 PM
Sorry to hear about that eggzbacon.

Have you tried rebooting in safe mode (hold shift key down during startup).

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1455

You may have some incompatible stuff on your Mac.

Now I'm DEFINITELY not upgrading to Snow Leopard. I'm already paranoid it'll screw with Logic and Komplete...

AaronAMV
08-29-2009, 01:05 PM
lolmac

ImNoSuperMan
08-29-2009, 01:06 PM
Ahhh. Thats why you didnt post any new threads today eggz :rolleyes:

Anyways as Yas said, try rebooting in safe mode and see if that helps.

eggzbacon
08-29-2009, 01:16 PM
Does safe mode delete your stuff?
How do you get out of safe mode?

ImNoSuperMan
08-29-2009, 01:22 PM
AFAIK it wont delete anything. It just starts your mac in its bare minimum and does not activate any other programs on startup as they might be the reason behind the problem. I havent used it in a long time but I `m sure it`s easily possible to restart your mac while its in safe mode. There should be some menu option there.


There is nothing to worry in using safe mode. Just hope that you are able to rectify the problem once you are logged in safe mode.

yas
08-29-2009, 01:31 PM
No, it won't nuke your Mac:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1564

Starting up into Safe Mode does several things:


It forces a directory check of the startup volume.
It loads only required kernel extensions (some of the items in /System/Library/Extensions).
In Mac OS X 10.3.9 or earlier, Safe Mode runs only Apple-installed startup items (such items may be installed either in /Library/StartupItems or in /System/Library/StartupItems; these are different than user-selected account login items).
It disables all fonts other than those in /System/Library/Fonts (Mac OS X 10.4 or later).
It moves to the Trash all font caches normally stored in /Library/Caches/com.apple.ATS/(uid)/ , where (uid) is a user ID number such as 501 (Mac OS X 10.4 or later).
It disables all startup items and login items (Mac OS X 10.4 or later).
Mac OS X 10.5.6 or later: A Safe Boot deletes the dynamic loader shared cache at (/var/db/dyld/). A cache with issues may cause a blue screen on startup, particularly after a Software Update. Restarting normally recreates this cache.

Taken together, these changes can help resolve software or directory issues that may exist on the startup volume.
Did a quick search on Apple's support forums. Some reports of people stuck on reboot after installing SL, but no one's reporting your type of problem...yet...

eggzbacon
08-29-2009, 01:34 PM
Safe mode didn't work

eggzbacon
08-29-2009, 01:42 PM
Only difference is that the apps on my homepage ex. The hardware icon and pictures on my front page show up but the bar on the top of my computer is still invisible but it shows the wifi and time. And if I open up Safari it quits out and all my stuff on my homescreen disapear

ImNoSuperMan
08-29-2009, 01:44 PM
In case you havent backed up any of your data on mac (like me :o), see if you can take a backup here first.

AaronAMV
08-29-2009, 01:49 PM
Just try a clean install

eggzbacon
08-29-2009, 01:52 PM
Clean install?

yas
08-29-2009, 02:01 PM
Basically nuking your mac and wiping your data.

Or try rebooting from the SL disc and reinstalling.

Do you have any weird apps installed or are you running mostly stock?

jonlink
08-29-2009, 05:41 PM
I assume you have a mac.... theres always the support line you could call.

Considering he downloaded the OS, I don't know how much support he's eligible for...

There are somethings I'll never download, an OS is one of them. (unless we are talking *nix)

eggzbacon
08-29-2009, 06:08 PM
Just install Firefox and be done with it. Safari stopped working on my Mac donkey's months ago, and honestly I don't miss it. Firefox is great. Do it...:)

Ugh you don't understand

eggzbacon
08-29-2009, 06:09 PM
Just install Firefox and be done with it. Safari stopped working on my Mac donkey's months ago, and honestly I don't miss it. Firefox is great. Do it...:)

Ugh you don't understand
How do I install Firefox when Safari and all my other apps crash on me?
Even if i did have Firefox, it would still crash

AaronAMV
08-29-2009, 07:22 PM
^Yeah, if you do, just use a flash drive or external hard drive to get the executable file to your mac

NomaD
08-29-2009, 07:53 PM
i would help you, but im still on leopard :(

eggzbacon
08-29-2009, 09:56 PM
Okay I'm gonna nuke my comp

AaronAMV
08-29-2009, 10:20 PM
Try Firefox first?

|:

Prab
08-29-2009, 11:22 PM
I think what eggz is trying to say is that there is something wrong with the computer and hence the apps won't work. Its not just a simple issue of not being able to run the web browser.

randomdude
08-29-2009, 11:26 PM
Eggzbacon try reinstalling it. If that doesn't work nuke your Mac.

Mister Mumbles
08-30-2009, 03:48 AM
Considering he downloaded the OS, I don't know how much support he's eligible for...

There are somethings I'll never download, an OS is one of them. (unless we are talking *nix)

Hm, yes, that does sound like it may very well be the root of the problem, as I've read about supposed pirate copies of Snow Leopard floating around which turn out to be nothing but malware. I think you've done yourself in, buddy. Might as well completely wipe the system and install whatever version of OS X you have on your restore discs.

Pirating is bad, and this is another reason why not to do it. Seriously, you couldn't pony up thirty quids? Now that's just sad.

Once I get around to actually upgrading to Snow Leopard it'll be from a legitimate disc.

ImNoSuperMan
08-30-2009, 04:27 AM
+1 for getting an original copy instead. Its just 30 bucks. And from what I`ve heard that 30$ disk works for Tiger users as well in case you didnt wanna shell out 169$ for that. :)

yas
08-30-2009, 04:40 AM
Considering he downloaded the OS, I don't know how much support he's eligible for...

There are somethings I'll never download, an OS is one of them. (unless we are talking *nix)

:eek:

eggzbacon
08-30-2009, 09:17 AM
I seriously did buy it, my dad got the family pack. Well I nuked my computer :(

eggzbacon
08-30-2009, 10:38 AM
YES!!
I'm writing this from my computer!!
IT WORKS!

randomdude
08-30-2009, 11:05 AM
Awesome your computer works!!!! Welcome back to TA!

yas
08-30-2009, 11:23 AM
Sweet. Welcome back! :)

eggzbacon
08-30-2009, 11:43 AM
Okay weird weird thing happened, it shows on the slide to unlock page on my iPod the huge green battery which means my iPod is plugged in, but it is not showing up on my iTunes. Anyone know anything?

Slapshot
08-30-2009, 11:47 AM
YES!!
I'm writing this from my computer!!
IT WORKS!

Yay! Welcome back. :D I don't really know about the iTunes thing.. Ummm...try Signing out of iTunes (Too save your Apps and data), then uninstall and reinstall iTunes and see if anything happens. Hope that helps. ;)

eggzbacon
08-30-2009, 11:48 AM
What do you mean signing out?
Like signing out of my iTunes account?

Prab
08-30-2009, 11:51 AM
Just try restarting iTunes and also replug your iPod.

Slapshot
08-30-2009, 11:54 AM
What do you mean signing out?
Like signing out of my iTunes account?

Yes. Signing out of iTunes.

eggzbacon
08-30-2009, 11:57 AM
EDIT: Nvm.

eggzbacon
08-30-2009, 12:06 PM
Okay I'm trying to delete iTunes and reinstalling it.
Hope this works

eggzbacon
08-30-2009, 12:16 PM
Okay!
It is WORKING!!! Yay!
This is gonna take a while because I'm transfering all my purchases to my iTunes

guggug
08-30-2009, 12:28 PM
Lol, why did everyone think he got a pirated copy of it? Anyways, glad its working for ya!

eggzbacon
08-30-2009, 12:29 PM
Lol, why did everyone think he got a pirated copy of it? Anyways, glad its working for ya!

Yeah lol, okay done syncing all my apps

ImNoSuperMan
08-30-2009, 12:34 PM
How the hell you synced this quick :eek:

I had to restore my iPhone twice in last ten days and each time it took 6+ hours to sync all of 13+ GB of apps, music, vids and photos. :(