Chanaging a game category: What to watch for?

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by LairdGames, Jan 21, 2013.

1. LairdGames

LairdGames Well-Known Member

Mar 25, 2012
    Hello guys,

My first app Space Command (combine asteroids and missile defense game play) is in the:

Game - Arcade category (no secondary category)

I came to find out (newbie here!) that arcade is really competitive (duh!) and was wondering if changing it Game - Adventure maybe not be a smart move since I think it is little less crowded than arcade (probably not much but...)

What do guys think? Any bad experience about changing categories mid-way? What do i need to watch for? Would lose anything in term of ranking (not sure that is big problem since the app is so new...)

Any suggestions/comments would be greatly appreciated!

Mo
    @LairdGames

ps: If you want to check the game while it is free (for few more days) just check my signature for the link. If you check it out, thanks in advance for any ratings/reviews!

(see my signature if you like to check it

2. ThreeCubes

ThreeCubes Well-Known Member

Oct 13, 2012
    #2 ThreeCubes, Jan 22, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2013
    Not sure if I'm missing something but I carnt get past level one on your game.. I hit very asteroid and the planet is still 100%. The time runs out and it's say I did a fantastic job but then takes me back to the games home screen and if I click play again its still level one?

Also your more games button opens up candy Crush in the appstore?

Yes you should but at least two categories, think you could put arcade and action. It's not really adventure and apple may remove that at approval stage.

3. LairdGames

LairdGames Well-Known Member

Mar 25, 2012
    Thanks ThreeCubes. I think you right, I probably should stick with what i have (game -aracade) if there is a chance that Apple would deny the game...