Need honest feedback - can a website UX guy create casual games?

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by Magroodle, Aug 29, 2009.

1. Magroodle

Magroodle New Member

Aug 29, 2009
    I have an idea for a cross-platform app (social network and iPhone) that I want to pursue full time. Outside of being an avid player, I don't have experience creating games, so I wanted to know what is the best way to get my idea completed in the highest quality.

I have a 5 years experience in user experience and strategy working for one of the world's biggest digital marketing agencies. I've worked on many websites and mobile applications, but no gaming.

Without going into detail, my app will offer a variety of bite-size, casual mini-games to make mundane tasks more enjoyable. The game concepts that I have come up with are not complex (no 3-d), but do include points system, avatar, leveling, awards, etc.

Right now I have a few options:

1. Partner with a game studio that can help with everything: concepting, design, and development

2. Work separately with a game artist (I deliver wireframes, artist creates designs) + hand off all materials to an iPhone development shop

Is there another way to go about getting this done well?

I have the capital to spend on this, so money isn't a huge issue. I just want to get this done correctly.

Which is the best road to take? Am I overlooking any big issues? Any other suggestions?

Thanks for the help!

2. p0rtalthinker101

p0rtalthinker101 Well-Known Member

Jul 31, 2009
    Washington State
    Np! While I'm not a dev myself I can say that the bet way to go is this:

Make sure there isent an app out there already like yours.
    Find artists, programers, etc. In your area. Perhaps even starting a company.
    Work with them, shaping the game the way you see it.
    Promote your game on all marketing sites (I'll get a link posted to the thread on this).
    Proide updates based on feedback.

Hope that helped u buddy.

3. yas