Riven: Sequel to Myst coming

Discussion in 'Upcoming iOS Games' started by dalurkersteve, May 7, 2009.

1. dalurkersteve

dalurkersteve Member

Feb 18, 2009
    Hey so with the latest release of myst for the iPhone I was curious if anyone had an update on Riven. I heard it was being developed for idevices and was wondering if anyone had updates on it (release date, news, etc...) thanks, Steve

2. Xander

Xander Well-Known Member

May 3, 2009
    They're probably waiting to see how successful myst is

3. nuggetsman28

nuggetsman28 Well-Known Member

Jan 11, 2009
    charlotte
    its already QUITE succesfull;)

4. Kita

Kita Well-Known Member

Nov 17, 2008
    Boston
    I'm really tempted to buy myst for the iphone, but I'm not very good at logic puzzle games (I can never beat zelda without a walkthrough) and didn't have the patience to play it on the pc. But maybe a portable version would make things a bit more convenient for me to play.

BTW, isn't riven at least 3-4 times bigger than myst? I can imagine how big that game would be for the iphone and touch platforms!!

5. Albtraum

Albtraum Active Member

May 2, 2009
    Riven was originally on 5 (or 6?) CDs. But the entire game is essentially just a series of pictures, a few short video clips and some ambient music.

With all the money they're clearly going to make on Myst, I hope they can find some way to shrink Riven down to a fraction of its former size without losing any content.

It HAS to be possible. Right?

Right?

6. Kita

Kita Well-Known Member

Nov 17, 2008
    Boston
    Myst is 650 megs on the pc, and riven is 2 gigs. I suppose they could just release a 2 gig game :) I just hope they don't release the game buggy because it will be a pain to update!

7. MacDaddy

MacDaddy Well-Known Member

May 4, 2009