Any success using a publisher?

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by butterbean21, Dec 18, 2009.

1. butterbean21

butterbean21 Well-Known Member

Nov 13, 2009
    I'm looking to possibly go the publisher route, but first, wanted to hear any success stories with any indy devs using a publisher, and if they care to disclose, what publishers are recommended?

I'm a newbie, but hear that as an indy dev, marketing your game can truly make or break your sales, and even the best marketing you can do individually may not bring your sales up

Any advice would be great!

(I've also been scowering this site for related topics, so I apologize if this has been posted more than once)

2. mobile1up

mobile1up Well-Known Member

Nov 6, 2008
    Technical Director
    Munich, Germany
    i still have not understood the publisher route - honestly.

if chillingo et al are examples - then i see as they get larger and larger; you end up being in a mix of another large list of applications (mini app store). you may be better off just trying to establish your own brand / name in the application store - this is what we are trying to do with mobile 1up. maybe you should work together with another small indie and form your own group so you dont end up by your self in the store (with a single app)

3. jak56

jak56 Well-Known Member

I think publishers will be good for you, but you need to have a good game in the first place! Ravensword is a prime example of this.

4. kinnth

kinnth Well-Known Member

Dec 17, 2009
    Hello,

My name is Tom and I work in the Publishing department at Chillingo. I cannot give you the advice of your fellow indie developers but I can give you some advice into what publishers can do for you.