Tips to Communicate with Developers

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by frisbee10461, Nov 6, 2013.

1. frisbee10461

frisbee10461 Well-Known Member

Feb 16, 2012
    #1 frisbee10461, Nov 6, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2013
    Hello, all! frisbee10461 here!

Several people emailed me recently, asking me how I am able to get information directly from developers. I don't have any secret connections or anything like that. And many times, just by contacting them, they will provide me with a code to a free game, such as Infinity Blade III. However, that is never the reason why you should contact a developer (to get free stuff).

So, what's the secret? Here is what I do.

1. Criticize, Don't Flame.

As a manager and business owner, I always believe in the following:

* Praise publicly and criticize privately
    * There are only a few inches that separate a pat on the back from a kick in the pants, but those inches make all the difference in the world.

Most developers [90%] develop because they love developing. Think about it. Why would a developer spend countless hours creating a game, and then, for many times, offer it for free? Because they want you to play it.

Now, am I saying that we should create this polyanna view, where everything is sunshine and rainbows? Of course not. However, where our criticism crosses into the flaming category, who is that hurting? What is the benefit of that? There is a way to get your point across without bashing the developer.

2. Just Say Hello. Most developers [again, 90%] welcome feedback. They WANT to know how you feel about their game. They are people, after all. So, dropping them a quick line to let them know that you are enjoying their game goes a LONG way. For example, if there is a promotion for a free download, and you let the developer know that you missed it, they will usually extend it, or provide you with a code to access the game for free. Developers are pretty cool people for the most part.