Where do you code? (beginner)

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by WellSpentYouth, Jan 29, 2009.

1. WellSpentYouth

WellSpentYouth Well-Known Member

Jan 11, 2009
    iPhone programmer
    App Tech Studios, USA
    Hello, I am in highschool and I am trying to start to code. It is extremely hard :p Please tell me where to code in Xcode! I have the sdk and I am trying to learn objective c. Thank you in advance. Any tips for a TOTAL beginner is WELCOME!!!!

Side note: I posted a thread called "You play it but you don't like it" where I asked what games you played but didn't like. I had a few people including Superbad tell to get a life and stop posting spam. I am/was new to the site and if this site wants to grow, they should welcorm new members, not chase them away! BarringtonSoftware is cool btw.

2. Schenk Studios

Schenk Studios Well-Known Member

#2 Schenk Studios, Jan 29, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2009
    Okay, you want a quick and dirty, here you go.

Launch Xcode
    Close the startup window
    Go to File >> New Project
    Under iPhone OS select Application
    Select "View-Based Application"
    click Choose
    Name it, "Start" without the quotes

This will open up the main Xcode windows. On the left hand side you'll have a panel titled "Groups & Files" with Start, Classes, Other Sources, Resources, Frameworks, and Products underneath.

Click on the arrow next to Classes. This will expand that so you can now see StartAppDelegate.h, StartAppDelegate.m, StartViewController.h & .m

Before we go any further, hit command + return to build and go the project. This should launch the simulator. It'll just be a grayish screen since we haven't done anything yet.

Quit the simulator.

Back in Xcode, in the left panel, click on resources arrow to expand that.

Double click on StartViewController.xib. This will launch interface builder. You should see three panels => View, StartViewController.xib, and Library.