Questions on 3d models

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by DarrenHollywood, Feb 1, 2010.

1. DarrenHollywood

Feb 1, 2010
    We're ramping up for a fast paced real time tactics game that will be based on Reaper Miniature's Warlord franchise. Planning some of this out got my gears turning on 3d modeling.

We are going to need a minimum of 40 different character models on top of terrain and any buildings we want to include. Detail of the models won't be a priority, except on some of the giant monsters.
    How long does an artist need to prepare that many character models? (I know this is vague, but I'm looking for vague answers)

More than anything, I'm a developer who hasn't worked with 3d artists before. Is there anything I should know? What do you like to know when you go into a project? What are usually the biggest problems you run into?

Any help would be great, and I apologize if any of this has been asked before.

-Darren

2. Flickitty

Flickitty Well-Known Member

Oct 14, 2009
    iPhone Dev
    This is a really vague question, and it will generate really vague responses. This would be like asking a coder how long it would take to implement Feature X or Feature Y.

I like to know what the capabilities are in terms of structure and animation. This can include UV (texture animation). Are bones supported, for standard animation? What are we looking at in terms of polycount, detail and speed? Overall, is the 3D absolutely necessary? (cite reasons 2D will not work).

Standard libraries have reduced the need to ask a lot of questions. if your game fully supports the Half-Life model system, I already know a lot of its basic capabilities.