Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2012, 06:16 AM
strivemind strivemind is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 2,582
Default Boulder Dash®-XL™ (by Herocraft) [Universal]





Low bandwidth Version | Pop Up



Low bandwidth Version | Pop Up

Last edited by Echoseven; 11-23-2012 at 01:27 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2012, 06:23 AM
psj3809 psj3809 is online now
Moderator
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 8,185
Default

Very happy this is out ! Thought it might be a NZ release but nope its out.

Huge fan of Boulderdash, hope this ones decent ! Looks good from the videos, looking forward to playing this later

Edit - Had a quick go, got a few different control options, love the retro mode !

Does seem quite slow but i 'presume' its just because its the early levels. But a lot of variety to it, hope it speeds up later

Last edited by psj3809; 11-21-2012 at 06:36 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2012, 06:28 AM
MidianGTX MidianGTX is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,765
Default

Someone gimme a heads up on iPad retina please. Without it I'd rather go for the PC version.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2012, 07:54 AM
smes3817 smes3817 is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 907
Default

Yes, so excited this is finally out!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2012, 08:22 AM
psj3809 psj3809 is online now
Moderator
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 8,185
Default

Tried the retro mode straight away, seems quite slow compared to the original. Wonder if it speeds up later

Everything else seems good so far but perhaps i'm in a 'beginner' mode or something, just needs a bit more speed
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2012, 08:37 AM
MidianGTX MidianGTX is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,765
Default

Until I get the all-clear on whether or not linking to live streams is allowed, I'll just sneakily suggest that it's happening right now with this game. If you're interested you'll know what to do

Edit: Stream finished.

Last edited by MidianGTX; 11-21-2012 at 09:39 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2012, 04:19 AM
hellokitt hellokitt is offline
Banned
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 102
Default

Bad controls, it was difficult to move around because the controls were not responsive enough
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-22-2012, 04:46 AM
slamraman slamraman is offline
Senior Member
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellokitt View Post
Bad controls, it was difficult to move around because the controls were not responsive enough
Yep - 100% agreed. I got on better with the buttons as the joystick thing is awful. I so want to love this but I just don't and I loved Boulder Dash 1 and 2. It's missing even the litttle things like after waiting for a while still Rockford used to tap his foot. Now he does it without any waiting. A very small thing but it's the little things sometimes that make or break a game and they haven't imported any of the charm. Seem to remember you could see more screen in the olden days too but that may just be me.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-22-2012, 05:57 AM
MidianGTX MidianGTX is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,765
Default

The controls are working fine for me. It essentially IS a stick, but the nature of the game doesn't allow for analog movement which can give the impression it's not responding. If there's a genuine bug somewhere, I haven't noticed.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-22-2012, 06:14 AM
Menneisyys Menneisyys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellokitt View Post
Bad controls, it was difficult to move around because the controls were not responsive enough
I wish it supported the iCade. Without hardware controls, it's very hard to control games like this.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent