★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.
11-17-2010, 04:47 PM
#51
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 197
HD looks much better:

SD:


HD:
11-17-2010, 04:51 PM
#52
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,999
I haven't really read through the thread, but how are the controls? Is it like Time Crisis?

11-17-2010, 04:57 PM
#53
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 139
Someone please answer. So does the HD version run on a iPod touch 3G? I'm getting the hd version because next week I'm getting a 4g iPod and don't wanna pay three dollars for both versions.
11-17-2010, 05:07 PM
#54
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 278
Damn, with such significant difference between HD/SD (certain objects removed, much blurrier textures, no AA) I really want to get the HD version for my 3GS but I also really wanna know just how much it 'hitches' since I'm pretty sensitive to framerates.
11-17-2010, 05:08 PM
#55
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 73
Send a message via ICQ to NiclasW
Gameplay: Rage for iPhone
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8l1l4G4-E0E

Last edited by NiclasW; 11-17-2010 at 05:25 PM.
11-17-2010, 05:09 PM
#56
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 10,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meta Knight View Post
Someone please answer. So does the HD version run on a iPod touch 3G? I'm getting the hd version because next week I'm getting a 4g iPod and don't wanna pay three dollars for both versions.
Acc to Carmack's post on TA front Page, it does, but not as smoothly as the SD version will..


Quote:
We wanted to make the HD version only for iPad and 4G, but there was no way to prevent a 3GS from buying it. We wanted a selector base either on ram > 128 or resolution > 480, but no such option exists. The 3GS will hitch a bit more playing the HD version, and the extra resolution doesn't matter much on it, so I recommend 3GS owners get the SD version unless they think they are going to upgrade soon. Cut down the monster download...

If you play the SD vrsion on an iPad, you will complain about the blurry graphics blown up so large, but it works fine.
http://toucharcade.com/2010/11/17/ra...mment-98511991
11-17-2010, 05:38 PM
#57
Gyro support

Yes, the game uses the gyros when available, and they are significanwtky better than the accelerometers.
11-17-2010, 05:40 PM
#58
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Carmack View Post
Yes, the game uses the gyros when available, and they are significanwtky better than the accelerometers.
Thats awesome to hear! I was already at instant buy, but it just keeps getting more appealing!
11-17-2010, 05:43 PM
#59
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 278
Damn it, now I need to know:
- just how much does it 'hitch'?
- Just how big is the graphical difference?
(perhaps that screenshot comparison was with the SD version running on a lower-than-3GS device where it disabled AA, bump maps and some game objects or perhaps that happens on any device with the SD version, I just don't know)
11-17-2010, 05:44 PM
#60
Anti aliasing

The game does not have anti aliasing enabled. I had it working for the quake con demo, but i disabled it because it had a huge performance penalty, which I still don't fully understand. A tiled graphics chip should have much less AA overhead than a frame buffer based one. I still need to follow up on this.