Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > Upcoming iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-05-2012, 12:39 AM
slewis7 slewis7 is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,017
Default

I went ahead and signed up for the beta.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-05-2012, 03:40 AM
LordGek's Avatar
LordGek LordGek is offline
Moderator
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Redding, CA, USA
Posts: 10,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeraien View Post
@LordGek: Thanks for those kind words!
In a more detailed answer to your question on the bonus: The difficulty of the game is calculated based on your score, so we figured that it would be weird if getting more points via combos and power ups would just make the game end faster, thus by getting more bonus points, you're actually able to get a higher score while not increasing difficulty.

We're also going to put in a new triggered power up that will prevent new ships from arriving for a short time, Jump Space Disruption
So now you have to choose between bribe, time dilation or JSD

@Gladiator12: Welcome!
Although there won't be a new release until after GDC :-P
Basic question:

Can the Bribe power-up show up in scenarios with no cops or can all scenarios eventually have cops if you hold on long enough? If it can show up in a scenario where it will never have any relevance, hopefully grabbing one still has some minor useful side-effect (like some bonus points?).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-05-2012, 04:01 AM
zeraien zeraien is offline
Junior Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to zeraien Send a message via AIM to zeraien Send a message via Yahoo to zeraien Send a message via Skype™ to zeraien
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordGek View Post
Basic question:

Can the Bribe power-up show up in scenarios with no cops or can all scenarios eventually have cops if you hold on long enough? If it can show up in a scenario where it will never have any relevance, hopefully grabbing one still has some minor useful side-effect (like some bonus points?).
Bribe only appears in missions with the possibility of cops, and the only mission with really late cops right now is Checkpoint. Still debating how to handle it, but I'm thinking that maybe one could receive bonus point(s) if a triggered power up is taken and replaces another one, so like if you take a time dilation and you already have bribe, you recycle the bribe for some credits... Another option might be to actually give a bonus for every power up, but that might inflate the score a bit too much.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-05-2012, 12:04 PM
LordGek's Avatar
LordGek LordGek is offline
Moderator
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Redding, CA, USA
Posts: 10,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeraien View Post
Bribe only appears in missions with the possibility of cops, and the only mission with really late cops right now is Checkpoint. Still debating how to handle it, but I'm thinking that maybe one could receive bonus point(s) if a triggered power up is taken and replaces another one, so like if you take a time dilation and you already have bribe, you recycle the bribe for some credits... Another option might be to actually give a bonus for every power up, but that might inflate the score a bit too much.
No, if it only can appear in levels that will at least eventually have the coppers, the current deal is fine.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent