★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.
04-13-2012, 11:13 PM
#21
New version now available, universal and FREE!

Main tread in iPhone forum:
http://forums.toucharcade.com/showthread.php?t=130201


.

Last edited by Jadynut; 04-16-2012 at 09:51 AM.
04-14-2012, 04:35 AM
#22
This is a great fun game but the intrusive ads are a slight turnoff for me.

04-14-2012, 04:46 AM
#23
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 73
I'm sorry Jaydnut but I do not like this update. I bought this game and now it has gone free with ads (admittedly minor), and has become riddled with IAPs.
Now over the past few months I have managed to figure out that it is unreasonable for me to expect free content updates and I am happy to play the game I bought originally - if I can. (Whatever game.) That's where I have a problem with this update. I don't expect free updates but I do anticipate important bugfixes in a relatively new game, especially one that is still getting developer attention. I wish you had released an iPad3 display fix for the original game (just a fix, not even retina) before or alongside this free version.
04-14-2012, 05:15 AM
#24
Bought the game in the past and also hate the fact that they changed it into a free version with alot of IAP....why....

OldskoolNL.nl : "Not Old, Just Older"
04-14-2012, 07:02 AM
#25
I think it's just not well-enough established yet that best practice is to release another copy of your game under a slightly-modified title as the free version.

Hope the devs all catch on quickly though. Seen it happen a few times now.
04-14-2012, 09:52 AM
#26
Hello, @Frennis @RodmanSan,

Sorry for that..
May i ask if you updated the app directly or re-installed it?

I'm asking this question because we have added a function that will detect if you are a previous paid user, if yes the app will unlock all levels and remove ads for you.

But this function need to read the previous version's saved data.
So i'm wondering if there have a bug..
04-14-2012, 02:49 PM
#27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jadynut View Post
Hello, @Frennis @RodmanSan,

Sorry for that..
May i ask if you updated the app directly or re-installed it?

I'm asking this question because we have added a function that will detect if you are a previous paid user, if yes the app will unlock all levels and remove ads for you.

But this function need to read the previous version's saved data.
So i'm wondering if there have a bug..
Kind of a bummer if you delete the app, isn't it?
04-14-2012, 04:27 PM
#28
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 73
@Jaydnut: Not a fresh install. I set up my iPad3 from a backup of my old iPad2 originally, but then went through a tedious process to get the thing properly synced to my new iTunes PC. (The old iPad2 wasn't properly synced to this new PC but it had a backup there.) I thought my game data made it (checked a few games at the time) but maybe the Jet Rats data didn't.
I also started (old) Jet Rats on the iPad3 before installing the update, but couldn't actually play it because of the display bug.
After the move, most of the IAPs I had (other games) were rejected because the device ID was different (or something) and I had to redo them, but all regular games seem fine. I don't know if this has any bearing...
04-16-2012, 09:48 AM
#29
I just updated it over the air, and while it is playable now on the new iPad, it looks like there are problems with detecting previous paid users. Because of the display problems, I was never able to play it, so there was probably never any save data to detect. (I didn't buy the app until I had the new iPad...)