★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPad: Conquest! Medieval Realms [Slitherine]

05-09-2012, 10:53 AM
#91
Joined: May 2010
Location: Burlingame CA
Posts: 2,387
Honestly, it seems to me you just want a build button and you tap that to pop up a menu of things you can build.
05-09-2012, 11:28 AM
#92
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaviddesJ View Post
Honestly, it seems to me you just want a build button and you tap that to pop up a menu of things you can build.
In concept yes, but isn't it annoying to see long list of options popping up all the time?

05-09-2012, 12:53 PM
#93
Joined: May 2010
Location: Burlingame CA
Posts: 2,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by toruzo View Post
In concept yes, but isn't it annoying to see long list of options popping up all the time?
I don't find it so in most games. You could tap the build button to open the build menu, and tap it again to dismiss, so that you can build several units (of the same or different types) without having to open and close it.

But in Slay, I spend most of my time studying the map, not actually building, so it's nice to have the buttons not there all the time. I assume this game is going to be like that.
05-09-2012, 02:54 PM
#94
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,036
I do like seeing more of the map and being less-cluttered. But sounds like the decision has already been made. Oh well, I guess my vote is what you have decided anyway.
05-11-2012, 10:28 AM
#95
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 249
Hi guys

we've just submitted the 1.1 update to Apple. Hoping to release next week if all goes to plan.

It includes
Fixed a number of memory issues that could cause crashes on some devices.
Fixed a bug that prevented the Conquest mode progress being saved.
New and improved UI making it easier to enjoy the game.
Added an option to take early victory at 60% or 80% or continue to 100%
Fixed a bug where starting territories were not randomizing correctly.
Fixed a bug were player stats was displaying incorrectly

Just a note - this does not yet include mid games saves but the guys are working on it and we didn't want to hold back the update for that.

It does also include Retina support but we haven't had time to resize all the art assets so you'll notice you can see more hexes if you want to but the UI wont benefit that much yet.

Hopefully this addresses many of the concerns people had and you can properly enjoy the game now!
05-11-2012, 10:38 AM
#96
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: In the middle of nowhere
Posts: 1,087
Send a message via Skype™ to Mythbuster
Thanks for that! So the 'save game feature' is the only missing thing for me ...
Any idea how long it will take for the 'final' update?

Schenker P505 Notebook | iPad Air 2 | iPhone 6+

I reject your reality and substitute my own.
05-11-2012, 10:46 AM
#97
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,164
Nice! I'm itching to play this game, but without saves in Conquest mode, there's no point of making any progress.

If I understand correctly, the game progress will save as you complete games, but if you leave mid-game the progress will not save and we'll have to start that scenario over again? But, this will make the perpetual tutorial go away and keep our Conquest progress as we finish levels? I hope I got that right!

Xbox Gamertag & Game Center: CzarCastic
05-11-2012, 11:02 AM
#98
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 249
Yes it saves Conquest mode but does not allow you to save mid mission.
05-12-2012, 01:51 AM
#99
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 74
Sounds like some progress is being made. I'm itching to give this game a good run out. It's fun when it works but that's nigh impossible at the moment.

It does need the save game functionality and online multiplayer however.
05-17-2012, 05:38 AM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 249
We just heard from Apple that the update is in review so the wait should not be long now!