Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > General Game Discussion and Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2012, 04:12 AM
underage17 underage17 is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 126
Default Why do app upgrades require you to download the entire app?

For instance, the updated version of MC3 has a small change (prevent speed hackers).. So for something that's only a few megabytes in size, why do we have to download the entire 1gb+ game?

Can't they have a patch system like they do on PC games?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2012, 04:19 AM
runliketurtles runliketurtles is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 156
Default

Actually, I think incremental patch updates can now be done for apps. But it's a relatively new feature and developers need to implement it, ie you probably won't see it happen much for awhile yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2012, 04:49 AM
psj3809 psj3809 is offline
Moderator
iPhone 4S, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 8,375
Default

Yeah its frustrating, several times i've had to delete apps to then just update another large app i've got already (Got fed up of Bards Tale doing that so in the end i deleted it).

Be good if they could just do the small updates instead of the huge file all over again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2012, 05:09 AM
defred34 defred34 is offline
Banned
iPad 2, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,410
Default

I know some huge games (like Fifa 13) that only download a few MBs (or maybe even KBs) for an update patch.

Unless of course if they're adding new content...then a whole download will be needed since it involves art assets. But if it simple tweaking in the code, a small patch should do. Not many devs implement this yet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2012, 05:58 AM
underage17 underage17 is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 126
Default

Usually I don't cry about it but when I saw the 1.09 gb MC3 update which only fixes speed hacks, it pissed me off -.-"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2012, 06:29 AM
MidianGTX MidianGTX is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defred34 View Post
I know some huge games (like Fifa 13) that only download a few MBs (or maybe even KBs) for an update patch.

Unless of course if they're adding new content...then a whole download will be needed since it involves art assets. But if it simple tweaking in the code, a small patch should do. Not many devs implement this yet.
The Simpsons: Tapped Out uses delta updates and they frequently include new art assets
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2012, 07:38 AM
Primoz Primoz is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 3GS, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,785
Default

I remember updating a huge (file) game some weeks ago and was surprised when it updated in a few minutes. I checked the AppStore updates if it really updated or just crashed and was even more surprised when I saw that it updated. I didn't know "patches" were possible before that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2012, 07:46 AM
LOLavi LOLavi is offline
👮 Spam Police 🚓
iPod Touch (4th Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 8,375
Default

I believe with iOS 6 you can only install that update?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2012, 08:08 AM
awp69 awp69 is offline
Banned
iPhone 5s, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 8,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOLavi View Post
I believe with iOS 6 you can only install that update?
If this is true, then I just found the only reason I need to update to iOS 6. I absolutely hate updates in huge games. Causes a massive headache of trying to delete and redownload apps. My biggest gripe with the iOS system has been lack if incremental updates.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2012, 08:08 AM
ParkProductionsGames ParkProductionsGames is offline
Member
iPod Touch (4th Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psj3809 View Post
Be good if they could just do the small updates instead of the huge file all over again.
Not sure if Apple supported patches from the start, but for us indie devs it is a lot faster and cleaner to create a brand new version of a game rather than trying to patch pieces of code.

We have recently updated our retro platformer GameGuy to add Game Center and other fixes(code only) but when sending to Apple there does not seem to be the ability to do patches. This might only be for the likes of EA etc.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent