Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #201  
Old 12-14-2012, 10:47 AM
Athos Athos is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (1st Gen)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
One main reason is you can't change color while moving. Also, from what I understand, auto-fire isn't how you should play Ikaruga. So they need to figure that out too (you need to strategically aim for killchains).
Yeah I'm thinking about it some more and I'm pretty sure Ikaruga is going to be miserable on touch screen. The chaining scheme is very rigid you need to control your shots precisely.

Nice thing about Dodonpachi Maximum is that it was designed from ground up with auto-fire in mind. With earlier Cave titles lack of buttons could be frustrating.

In Espgaluda II:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5_jPOaLGFM#t=01m13s

Those medium ships you shoot them a couple times to bust one gun then they fire a much denser bullet pattern (means big points in the slow pink mode.) Not very difficult with buttons but with iOS shot on/shot off really a pain in the neck.

Ikaruga:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRVEtJ6w8og#t=2m02s

No shot button, no thanks

re: Metalcasket
I've avoided Rrootage because of the stupid icon heh. Played it a ton on mac tho'. Other ABA games like Noiz2sa and Parsec 47 are worth checking out (PC and Mac) too.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 12-14-2012, 10:50 AM
defred34 defred34 is offline
Banned
iPad 2, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Athos View Post
No shot button, no thanks
There IS a shoot button. But with shoot + change color + move + homing ... that's just to much to control on a touchscreen in a bullet hell shooter I think.

What I was saying is that it gets better with auto-shoot, but then the whole game gets screwed up as a result.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 12-14-2012, 10:59 AM
Athos Athos is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (1st Gen)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defred34 View Post
that's just to much to control on a touchscreen in a bullet hell shooter I think.
Most definitely.

Some games are fun when played either for survival or for score but Ikaruga isn't one of them; what enjoyment that game has to offer is in the chaining and you'd be frustrated trying to do it with a touchscreen.
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 12-14-2012, 04:15 PM
Connector Connector is offline
Banned
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the Chatroom
Posts: 15,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalcasket View Post
I guess there's a reason to pull my Xbox out of it's 3 year hibernation now. Guessing it's not on PS3. Well, no difference...that's also in hiberation now. >_>

This is my last bit of thread derailing: I've always avoided rRootage because of the "Online" part of the title. I don't know why, but that just completely confused the hell out of me. I just picked up the HD version...wow. I've seriously been missing out on this for such a long time?
Yeah, that online in the title is weird, cause usually that means you have to be on the internet, but it is a great game thatI first bought for my iphone aons ago. Cool game, but with games like dodonpachi, haven't played too much of it lately.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 12-28-2012, 07:48 AM
lifthraser lifthraser is offline
Junior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Anyone found a way to make this work on ipod touch 5th?
Tried editing restriction of the app file so it tryed to install it but then the installation failed
I'm so sad i bought an ipod 5th for gaming...
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 12-28-2012, 01:41 PM
Darth Ronfar Darth Ronfar is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: LA
Posts: 1,001
Default

I don't understand why the heck this game needs a compass? How many other games require this? And what is its use?
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 12-28-2012, 01:47 PM
strivemind strivemind is online now
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 2,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ronfar View Post
I don't understand why the heck this game needs a compass? How many other games require this? And what is its use?
It doesn't really. But because Apple has not given developers any way to restrict which device a game can run on, developers commonly use things like a compass, GPS, iOS version, gyroscope, etc. to restrict hardware.

Basically, your device wouldn't be able to run it properly.
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 12-29-2012, 05:23 AM
Darth Ronfar Darth Ronfar is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: LA
Posts: 1,001
Default

So your saying they don't want to sell this game on the iPod touch 5th gen? Isn't like exactly the same as the 4s...(does it run on that?)
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 12-29-2012, 06:32 AM
laszlo_kovacs laszlo_kovacs is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ronfar View Post
So your saying they don't want to sell this game on the iPod touch 5th gen? Isn't like exactly the same as the 4s...(does it run on that?)
Runs great! That's a bummer to hear. I think there is a fix for this via SSH/iFile (which involves jailbreaking) or by using a program like iExplorer. I saw a post on here recently...I'll try to find it.
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 12-29-2012, 08:56 AM
tops2 tops2 is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 6 Plus, iOS 8.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ronfar View Post
So your saying they don't want to sell this game on the iPod touch 5th gen? Isn't like exactly the same as the 4s...(does it run on that?)
I think because there's no way to filter out iPod touch 4 and keep iPod touch 5, they've decided to filter out both just to be safe. Pretty annoying to me, but I think a large part of the blame goes to Apple for not creating a way to distinguish between them.

I've tried editing the different files a while back and eventually got it to install on my iPod touch 5, but I couldn't get it to run. Think I mentioned it before...almost want to request a refund from Apple just to get their attention if it wasn't for the fact it runs great on my iPad...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent