Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-14-2012, 04:47 PM
mklaurence mklaurence is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 105
Default

BTW, we just updated the client last night (1.3.11) to have much more responsive controls and better navigation (especially going up and down single-block-wide chutes, which were a huge pain before)!

We'd love to hear anyone's feedback on how the controls feel now. Platformer controls are tricky on iOS, as everyone knows! The more feedback we get the better we can fine-tune the experience.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-15-2012, 08:56 AM
Unfrozen Unfrozen is offline
Senior Member
iPad mini, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mklaurence View Post
BTW, we just updated the client last night (1.3.11) to have much more responsive controls and better navigation (especially going up and down single-block-wide chutes, which were a huge pain before)!

We'd love to hear anyone's feedback on how the controls feel now. Platformer controls are tricky on iOS, as everyone knows! The more feedback we get the better we can fine-tune the experience.
The update fixed problems I was having moving down or up through narrow passages. It was becoming a trying task not to burn though my basic steam pack to go up through a tunnel.

You do have a pretty good control system but I think a bit more customization would help. Being able to set the floating D Pad to the left side of the screen only would prevent activating by accident when missing tapping on a tool. It doesn't happen too often but I found myself surprised the floating D Pad would activate anywhere.

As well, I have found it tricky to tap chat without accidentally activating the floating D Pad. Perhaps in the control options players could choose to relocate it to the right side, near to the tool bar.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-15-2012, 09:06 AM
Unfrozen Unfrozen is offline
Senior Member
iPad mini, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

I can not figure out how to follow people in the social tab. No options come up when you tap on players that you see in a world.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-15-2012, 11:09 AM
dannythefool dannythefool is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 361
Default

I'm really liking the art style and the setting. This game came out of nowhere for me and I'd recommend it to anyone.

As for controls: I find myself jumping a little too much when I really just want to walk. That's probably my own fault though as I'm using the fixed joystick and just need to learn to move slightly downward instead of vaguely left/right. Apart from that it's great.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-15-2012, 04:41 PM
mklaurence mklaurence is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unfrozen View Post
I can not figure out how to follow people in the social tab. No options come up when you tap on players that you see in a world.
Open the social panel and star their name in the "nearby" section.

We'll add the ability to tap characters to socialize/give/etc. soon!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-15-2012, 05:46 PM
sawyer4325 sawyer4325 is offline
Senior Member
iPad mini
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 577
Default

Great game(played on moms iPad) gonna stop till I get iPad mini for Christmas. What all does premium unlock do??? I'm a little confused about it. Do I buy that or should I buy crowns?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-15-2012, 07:10 PM
mklaurence mklaurence is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sawyer4325 View Post
Great game(played on moms iPad) gonna stop till I get iPad mini for Christmas. What all does premium unlock do??? I'm a little confused about it. Do I buy that or should I buy crowns?
Premium unlocks a few things:
- Lots of premium worlds (including different biomes - hell & arctic)
- Upgrade skills past level 3
- Premium loot

You also get 100 crowns with a premium upgrade, which is enough for a few protectors.

Crowns are useful if you are really into building and want a large protected area or private world, or if you want to get powerful items without spending as much time in-game looking for them / upgrading and crafting them.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-16-2012, 01:45 AM
dannythefool dannythefool is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 361
Default

You should probably get premium first, without it you can't even mine to the bottom of the world (needs mining 4).
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-16-2012, 07:06 AM
sawyer4325 sawyer4325 is offline
Senior Member
iPad mini
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 577
Default

Alright thanks! I will buy premium.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-18-2012, 07:42 AM
Kittiah Kittiah is offline
Junior Member
iPhone 3GS, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Is anyone else unable to log in? I upgraded to premium immediately, but all I get is "A networking error occured :-(" even when other games are able to connect just fine.

Anyone else?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent