Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #631  
Old 01-27-2013, 11:06 PM
Wediafom24 Wediafom24 is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Asmara, Eritrea
Posts: 1,707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman97 View Post
How far am I into the game when I have to rescue lance?
You got a big chunk left. With property missions, I would say, you have about 60%-70% left. You might struggle at the RC and porn studio mission. Add the Malibu mission, prepare to spend a little more time
Reply With Quote
  #632  
Old 01-27-2013, 11:27 PM
AbsolutePhenom AbsolutePhenom is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidgoku123 View Post
vice city has dynamic shadows and runs smoothly on ipod 3g but lags on ipod 4g,Rockstar should have optimised the game better instead they gave us laggy c##p.
The game isn't crap your deVICE is (see what I did there?). How do you expect games to keep progressing on iOS is they're being held back by hardware? Upgrade your device every 2 years and you'll be good.
Reply With Quote
  #633  
Old 01-28-2013, 02:39 AM
ThePowerofLava ThePowerofLava is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbsolutePhenom View Post
The game isn't crap your deVICE is (see what I did there?). How do you expect games to keep progressing on iOS is they're being held back by hardware? Upgrade your device every 2 years and you'll be good.
And the itouch 4 is notorious for performing horribly. I think Rockstar did what they could to optimize it to most things, but having devices that are 3-4 years old would make any new iOS game laggy and crappy.
Reply With Quote
  #634  
Old 01-28-2013, 03:27 AM
Nemer Nemer is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Far far away
Posts: 293
Default

I kept that failing that porn studio mission until friend told me you could just use helicopter to get checkpoints -_-
Reply With Quote
  #635  
Old 01-28-2013, 03:48 AM
GR3NADE GR3NADE is online now
Senior Member
iPhone 5, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemer View Post
I kept that failing that porn studio mission until friend told me you could just use helicopter to get checkpoints -_-
I did motorbike rooftops jumping mission with helicopter - took 1st checkpoint by mistake
Reply With Quote
  #636  
Old 01-28-2013, 11:23 AM
Wediafom24 Wediafom24 is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Asmara, Eritrea
Posts: 1,707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemer View Post
I kept that failing that porn studio mission until friend told me you could just use helicopter to get checkpoints -_-
Really? I thought you have like 10 or 20 seconds to get back to the skimmer or mission failed
Reply With Quote
  #637  
Old 01-28-2013, 11:24 AM
JBRUU JBRUU is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidgoku123 View Post
I meant the optimising part of the game is crap,not the game itself actually far from it it's one of the best games of all time.I would expect a 10 year old ps2 game to run smoothly on my device,considering how it runs so much better on incredibly dated psp.upgrade every two years doesn't make sense,ipad 2 will be two years old in two months time it doesn't mean devs. should drop support for it.
iPod 4 is about the bare minimum hardware needed to run the game. I'd be happy it works.
Reply With Quote
  #638  
Old 01-28-2013, 01:33 PM
ThePowerofLava ThePowerofLava is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidgoku123 View Post
they never even tested the game on the device,it was crashing all the time on ipod 4g at the time of release.so they didn't actually do anything to optimise it on any device.notice how the game runs on ipod 3g with real time
shadows,whereas it is not supported in itunes page.
Well, what iOS version do you have running on them? The iPod 3 should run better with an older build, and if the iPod 4 is running iOS 6, that could be your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #639  
Old 01-28-2013, 02:27 PM
JBRUU JBRUU is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidgoku123 View Post
I would have been happy if it ran at even 27-30fps but it doesn't,the pop-in is horrible and the game has got no effects whatsoever it looks like a ps1 game to be honest.the same engine also runs on psp but then the psp version is optimised to run the game which makes all the difference.
The iPod 4 also has far more pixels to push and a lot of the very limited system resources go to running the OS. The PSP and PS2 had none.
Reply With Quote
  #640  
Old 01-28-2013, 03:38 PM
Bassman97 Bassman97 is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: You dont need to know
Posts: 286
Default

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent