★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.
04-21-2017, 05:16 AM
#21
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by currymutton View Post

Edit:

Possible first bug found: during tutorial, when you are asked to build a town, you cannot read the town tiles because the instructor dialogue blocks the description text. Worse, you can close the entire town tile selection dialogoue by clicking outside the box, and there is no way you can continue except restarting that section of the tutorial

Is it hard to learn? May be, depending if you have played other similar resource management games before. The tutorial does not seem to cover some elements like "the bowl", etc. One really needs to read the manual, or rerun the tutorials again.

Again, of course, learning how to play is one thing, learning how to *win* is very much another story.
Sorry I cut some parts of your comment, but I have to say I found the exact same bug and especially the second part is so annoying.

Also there are some mispellings like "sturcture" and such.

I am a somewhat longtime boardgamer (I would say over 20 years, since I started off to a rocking start when I was probably 13 with Republic of Rome soloplay... the headache... and I'm Portuguese...) and Terra Mystica has soooooo much depth, the sheer difference in factions is amazing.
I think it is not terribly difficult, but there are some nuances.
I suggest checking the strategy guide on bgg
04-21-2017, 08:00 AM
#22
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 337
Awesome game, and very good port. The main issue of BG on mobile it's you can't see the whole thing together but you have to open different tabs to check various things. Not so great, but hey, it's TM on mobile, I just say 💩💩💩💩yeah! With some practice this weird stuff will fade off, and you accuse it way less.

I just found the same little problems during tutorial, and had to restart it, but the small lessons are quite practical and fast-use.

One "big" problem it's that I can't play online games. Every time it remind me of an error with the network, or something about the user couldn't be recognized.

Idea what I can do to fix this? Thanks

04-21-2017, 08:16 AM
#23
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Does it support asynchronous play?

Hi all,

I'm considering buying it but only if it supports asynchronous game-play. I'm sure I read a pre-release review somewhere that said it did support async but the release notes give no mention of this.

Does anyone know?
04-21-2017, 10:22 AM
#24
Joined: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 344
Is there an option for quick multiplayer games with short turn limits?
04-21-2017, 04:14 PM
#25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoggothy View Post
Hi all,

I'm considering buying it but only if it supports asynchronous game-play. I'm sure I read a pre-release review somewhere that said it did support async but the release notes give no mention of this.

Does anyone know?
I'm still learning this game so haven't played online. But it does have Ranked game as well as Casual game with friends as well... not sure about the asynchronous part but I'm assuming so since it's the same online engine with their other games.
04-22-2017, 12:22 AM
#26
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 9
I can confirm that the multiplayer is asynchronous.

I've joined a couple ranked games and they are 72 hour turns. Have a casual game going with a friend and those turns are 24 hours. Not sure if time limit is 24x(P-1) or always 24 hours for casual. It looks like all ranked games are 4p (I didn't see an option to change).

Last edited by KyneTarse; 04-22-2017 at 12:28 AM.
04-22-2017, 01:26 AM
#27
Joined: Feb 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyneTarse View Post
I can confirm that the multiplayer is asynchronous.

I've joined a couple ranked games and they are 72 hour turns. Have a casual game going with a friend and those turns are 24 hours. Not sure if time limit is 24x(P-1) or always 24 hours for casual. It looks like all ranked games are 4p (I didn't see an option to change).
Hmm thats odd, this post seems to be alluding to a "fast game" mode being available:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1767189/fast-game

I don't know if it's referring to ranked play or something else. The reply isn't really clear to me.
04-22-2017, 05:05 AM
#28
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen_mode View Post
Hmm thats odd, this post seems to be alluding to a "fast game" mode being available:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1767189/fast-game

I don't know if it's referring to ranked play or something else. The reply isn't really clear to me.
Well, the match finder is very basic, without options or instructions of any kind. There is simply a box that says "check to join fast game queue" or something like that. No explanation. I did not comment on it because I have not been able to successfully join such a game.
04-23-2017, 02:45 AM
#29
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 113
I really love this game.
It's a perfect implementation.

But: I have played 3 online matches. For all games at any point it was my move, but after opening the game, it was another factions move.
But my time was ticking and it was my loss.

No workaround.

It's really frustrating.
04-23-2017, 03:35 PM
#30
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 337
I can't figure how to play online, every time the game give me an error about no connection or connection errors