iPhone 5 on 6.1.3 issue - Battery draining like crazy!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Lounge' started by metalcasket, Apr 9, 2013.

1. metalcasket

metalcasket Moderator
    Staff Member Patreon Silver Patreon Gold Patreon Bronze

May 24, 2010
    Deepest Circle, Hel
    My girlfriend got an iPhone 2 days ago and for the better part of the last 2 days, her battery's been draining like hell. I'm talking going down 5% at a time in standby and crap. We've done all the usual. Location services off, Bluetooth, crap to do with push notifications, turning down the brightness, iCloud, etc...I've been using iDevices for 4 years now, I know the basics. :p The thing is, I've been complaining about my battery (iPhone 4) going down like hell too. Not this drastically though. Is there any known problem with 6.1.3 regarding batteries draining, and if not, what can we do about it?

2. metalcasket

metalcasket Moderator

May 24, 2010
    Deepest Circle, Hel
    Thanks dude, you're frickin' awesome! :) We'll give it a try when she comes home later today.

3. This maybe a Google related calendar sync problem. I sync hotmail and icloud calendars, but I just tried to only sync icloud calendars on my iphone 4 and ipad 3 cause I am curious to see if hotmail calendar syncs cause a battery drain. But it seems if one is synching with google calendars, that can be a problem.

But makes sense just to sync calendars with icloud only. I will let you know if I see any difference on my end cause I am curious. Probably better anyway to just sync to icloud anyway for uniformity sake I figure.

4. This might be a bit idiotic saying this as it sounds like something you might have tried already, but how often is Mail checking for E-Mails in the background?

5. You can set the fetch (push) settings with emails to different intervals in the general settings. I usually just set it off and manually check, but the battery draining problem seems to be from a google calendar sync problem it seems.

6. Echoseven