★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Keeping pulled games

05-27-2009, 11:31 AM
#1
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,093
Keeping pulled games

I don't know if this is off-topic or of any violation of any rules.

I turn out I have kept a number of games which are pulled from the iTunes Store on my iPhone. Some of them, however, do not have copies on the PC, except backup. So I am worried in case I have to changed my device (e.g. upgrade), all those apps will be lost.

Is there any way to ensure those pulled apps can be installed back?

Thanks in advanced.

The Unofficial Touch Arcade's Captain Slow(TM)

“Honestly, I was never terribly good at games.” - Finch (PoI S2E16)
05-27-2009, 12:11 PM
#2
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 858
I don't get it. If the game is on your device, just sync to your iTunes account and the game should be uploaded. Then you can manually (applications check box) remove or reinstall via iTunes whenever you want.

You just won't be able to re-download via the mobile App Store obviously.

05-27-2009, 12:14 PM
#3
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Lake Zurich, Illinois
Posts: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by HJJ View Post
I don't get it. If the game is on your device, just sync to your iTunes account and the game should be uploaded. Then you can manually (applications check box) remove or reinstall via iTunes whenever you want.

You just won't be able to re-download via the mobile App Store obviously.
True. However, when the OS 3.0 comes out he won't be able to play the games anymore. Apple is making all app developers make the programs be able to support the upgrade to 3.0. So, in the end the games won't be able to be played unless on jb idevices.
05-27-2009, 12:53 PM
#4
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by radchad1 View Post
True. However, when the OS 3.0 comes out he won't be able to play the games anymore. Apple is making all app developers make the programs be able to support the upgrade to 3.0. So, in the end the games won't be able to be played unless on jb idevices.
actually you couldn't be more wrong. The only thing apple is doing is having devs do a 3.0 compliance check. if they do not do the check then their game is no longer for sale. It does not however prevent you from installing or playing the game. Obviously a few games will not be compliant and won't play properly regardless of stock or jailbroken. Many of the games will play just fine and you will be able to play them regardless. Out of 173 games I have 5 that don't work properly and only 2 of them are unplayable. Apple is not stopping you from playing pulled games on 3.0. They have not used he kill switch on ANY program. Apple just wants the store to be 100% 3.0 compliant. Think how mad you would benig you bought a game only to find out it doesn't work because you had the new firmware. That's what the check is for, not to prevent you from playing games. More than likely the pulled games will play just fine without a 3.0 adjustment. Since the check is nothing more than telling apple "yup it works" nothing else. Just make sure you copy them over like HJJ said.

Boiler Up!
*Hated By Many, Loved By Few*
05-27-2009, 03:12 PM
#5
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchampl View Post
actually you couldn't be more wrong. The only thing apple is doing is having devs do a 3.0 compliance check. if they do not do the check then their game is no longer for sale. It does not however prevent you from installing or playing the game. Obviously a few games will not be compliant and won't play properly regardless of stock or jailbroken. Many of the games will play just fine and you will be able to play them regardless. Out of 173 games I have 5 that don't work properly and only 2 of them are unplayable. Apple is not stopping you from playing pulled games on 3.0. They have not used he kill switch on ANY program. Apple just wants the store to be 100% 3.0 compliant. Think how mad you would benig you bought a game only to find out it doesn't work because you had the new firmware. That's what the check is for, not to prevent you from playing games. More than likely the pulled games will play just fine without a 3.0 adjustment. Since the check is nothing more than telling apple "yup it works" nothing else. Just make sure you copy them over like HJJ said.
I'm glad Tris works with 3.0 .

 /l、
(゚、
 l、 ~ヽ
 じしf_, )ノ Inconspicuous Group Cat?
05-27-2009, 03:29 PM
#6
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mew2468 View Post
I'm glad Tris works with 3.0 .
Same here
05-28-2009, 06:18 AM
#7
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Wouldn't you like to know ;)
Posts: 2,632
Send a message via ICQ to brewstermax Send a message via AIM to brewstermax Send a message via MSN to brewstermax Send a message via Yahoo to brewstermax
Quote:
Originally Posted by radchad1 View Post
True. However, when the OS 3.0 comes out he won't be able to play the games anymore. Apple is making all app developers make the programs be able to support the upgrade to 3.0. So, in the end the games won't be able to be played unless on jb idevices.
No. Light Jockey is the best app that got pulled that I have. It's a perfect Audiotorium clone. It works great on 3.0.
06-02-2009, 04:38 AM
#8
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 127
i've got ipint and netshare
has anyone tried if they work on 3.0

Playing: Pocket God, Doodle Jump, Real Racing, Modern Warfare, Gang$ter
Add Me--- Feint Name: JordanBooth
World War Code: ZRVMZ