★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.
05-13-2018, 04:40 AM
#11
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 127
Started out well but now there are some random lock-ups. At various times the screen goes blurry and the game freezes. Clearing it requires ipad rebooting. Only happens in on-line mode. Air 2 with iOS 11.3.1.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6D0A3EB4-4196-4BF8-9777-EDB94C768055.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	98.5 KB
ID:	120367  
05-13-2018, 07:20 AM
#12
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eat the Moon View Post
You make a good point. I tried to make the tutorial as quick as possible, as I have seen some games lock you into a tutorial for 10-20+ minutes before you are able to really do anything.

My hope was that by presenting the tutorials as parts (There is a section at the bottom of the tutorial screen that says (1 of 4), (2 of 4), etc.) that it would be enough to let the player know that there were 4 tutorials. Also when the tutorial was complete, it would state that the player was going to move onto the next tutorial. I also made each tutorial screen use different colors and layouts so that the tutorials would definitely look different, so it was clear these were separate tutorials. If the player made a mistake (tapped a black button during the tutorial, or let the timer run out), it would let the player know about that part of the game so that they can try again and do better.

Even doing all of this, it appears to have not been clear that this tutorial is multi part and broken down into small chunks. Sorry about that

The 4 tutorials teach important aspects of the game. During play tests without the tutorial, people were confused about or didn't even know about these important things, so the tutorials were created to teach the basics of the game that was needed. But it appears that I need to do better in this regard

- - -

Now, with that said, do you think it would be better if I showed the player all 4 tutorials, like a list, with a star next to each that was completed as part of the tutorial screen, so you have a better understanding of what is to come and what you are doing? That way you can see your progress and understand what's happening?

I guess I could allow players the option to skip the tutorial again, but when I did that during the play test, people wouldn't tap the tutorial button on the main title screen (which you will see when you complete the tutorial) in order to learn what is going on and would not understand mechanics and get confused or frustrated.

One thing that I will definitely do is save your progress on the tutorial. If you are on part 3 (learning about multipliers) and close the game and come back, it would be best to start up on part 3 and not part 1 again.
Eat The Moon: I think the approach you mentioned, which is pasted below, is a very good idea:

"Now, with that said, do you think it would be better if I showed the player all 4 tutorials, like a list, with a star next to each that was completed as part of the tutorial screen, so you have a better understanding of what is to come and what you are doing? That way you can see your progress and understand what's happening?"

05-13-2018, 10:09 AM
#13
Joined: Jul 2017
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebgo View Post
I can't wait to play the tutorials! 😂

Just kidding, I'll give it a go and, if I get past the tutorial, play it and return with some feedback and/or impressions!

I had checked this game's dev log and it was great, so the name kinda rang a bell when I saw it in the iPhone's games (released) section.

Will be back later!
Thanks for giving it another shot! I am readying version 1.1.1 with the updated tutorial tracking code, to remember your place in the tutorial if you leave and come back. Also making a change to the tutorial window to allow players to skip it if they want, as well as see the tutorial progress track to understand how much there is in the tutorials.

I am also addressing a bug related to the blur effect that I use behind popup dialogs outside of the game. In some situations, it doesn't go away after the game ends, which is not ideal.

All of these changes should be ready for submission to Apple on Monday morning, hopefully live Monday afternoon or evening or Tuesday!

Once I am certain that the game is stable for as many players as possible, I'll be looking forward to introducing some new buttons types for players to look out for
05-13-2018, 10:16 AM
#14
Joined: Jul 2017
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asp View Post
Started out well but now there are some random lock-ups. At various times the screen goes blurry and the game freezes. Clearing it requires ipad rebooting. Only happens in on-line mode. Air 2 with iOS 11.3.1.
I'm sorry about that bug, I thought I found and fixed it for the 1.1 release, but I was mistaken. It's not ideal, but if this happens, you can kill the app and reopen it to restart the game.

Basically, when I show a popup dialog in the game, I blur the background. Unfortunately, the blur sticks around sometimes (which also blocks input of anything behind it) when you close a dialog. I haven't been able to find a solid reproduction of the issue, but I have some new code in place to prevent this state from happening.

I am readying version 1.1.1 which will address this bug, as well as add a small change to the tutorial flow as mentioned earlier in the thread. I hope to have it live on Monday, no later than Tuesday. It's high priority right now!
05-13-2018, 10:18 AM
#15
Joined: Jul 2017
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grist View Post
Eat The Moon: I think the approach you mentioned, which is pasted below, is a very good idea:

"Now, with that said, do you think it would be better if I showed the player all 4 tutorials, like a list, with a star next to each that was completed as part of the tutorial screen, so you have a better understanding of what is to come and what you are doing? That way you can see your progress and understand what's happening?"
Thanks for your input! This is one of the things I'll be adding to version 1.1.1 for the tutorial. Hopefully it will be out on the App Store on Monday
05-13-2018, 12:49 PM
#16
Joined: Aug 2017
Location: In a human dwelling
Posts: 55
Huh?

Honestly it seems people are nitpicking the tutorials, I've encountered way more intrusive and annoying ones. It's just my opinion but I thought they were fine and it took me less then 5 mins to get thru them. You even put the button meanings in a little book option instead of forcing a training of them.


Anyway I just wanted to put another point of view up here, and say you've done a great job dev!
This seems to have the addiction level of an io game!
05-13-2018, 03:58 PM
#17
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Somewhere in a town in the middle of the Amazon jungle.
Posts: 146
I get the blurry screen after getting a multiplier higher than x99 in easy mode. When I "lose" I get said screen. I'll try to upload a video.

Also, I know the game kinda randomizes button appearance, but there was a time when the only available button was the red one and that kinda makes no sense when you're chasing a high score. In said cases, the only available button should be the green one, so that the game doesn't kill a super combo but it won't make it bigger, either.

Imps:
I'm liking it so far! I keep hitting the retry button in order to get a higher score!

There's a problem in "Easy" mode: Everytime I get a multiplier higher than x99, the game freezes...

No wonder I can't keep climbing the leaderboards! ��

Already purchased the option to get rid of pesky ads, since after watching an ad about a laaaaame game that rips Clash of Clans' logo (Lords Mobile, in my case haha), I'd get the loading cog in the middle of a game. Now with no ads, I don't get that kind of issue except for the multiplier thingp

Last edited by sebgo; 05-13-2018 at 04:03 PM.
05-13-2018, 04:40 PM
#18
Joined: Jul 2017
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebgo View Post
I get the blurry screen after getting a multiplier higher than x99 in easy mode. When I "lose" I get said screen. I'll try to upload a video.
Interesting. I thought I capped the max multiplier at 99, but apparently that is not the case and it's still affecting you. I'll drop that fix into the next update (version 1.1.1). Thanks for that extra info! I can probably allow for a larger multiplier and can drop the "x" in the numbering down there, but just remember that multipliers will increase the speed of the game. Right now, each mode mode has a max speed, but higher multipliers are meant to push past that limit. That might not be happening, as sticking at 99 should be incredibly hard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebgo View Post
Also, I know the game kinda randomizes button appearance, but there was a time when the only available button was the red one and that kinda makes no sense when you're chasing a high score. In said cases, the only available button should be the green one, so that the game doesn't kill a super combo but it won't make it bigger, either.
Totally agree with you! I had this happen to me a couple times and it definitely felt bad, but it happened rarely enough that I kept forgetting to add it to my list of things to fix. I will balance the game to adjust for that situation. I'll make it either convert to a green button and appear next time, or ensure that a green button spawns with it, so you get a choice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebgo View Post
Imps:
I'm liking it so far! I keep hitting the retry button in order to get a higher score!
Yay!

I'm looking at the leaderboards and watching some details appear on the server side and it makes me happy that the game isn't too hard. People are still struggling with long games and big scores, but once the reaction speed kicks in and someone gets in the zone, it's pretty cool. I was worried that people wouldn't be able to last for a minute, but I have been finally proven wrong.

All modes were made slightly easier in the 1.1 update, and when I introduce some new buttons and mechanics in the future, a re-balance will have to happen ... possibly upping some of the difficulty.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebgo View Post
Already purchased the option to get rid of pesky ads, since after watching an ad about a laaaaame game that rips Clash of Clans' logo (Lords Mobile, in my case haha), I'd get the loading cog in the middle of a game. Now with no ads, I don't get that kind of issue except for the multiplier thing
Huh. That's a new one! I'll look into the cause of that, as you shouldn't get the loading cog during an active game, even if you watch an ad.

The cog only appears when there is communication happening between the game and the server, which is triggered from a UI button, not the game screen itself. Also if you switch languages ... but I might remove that cog screen as the switch is instant and the cog appears for one frame and seems strange.

The only thing I can think of is some ad watch callback code not completing before you start the game or when you use the ad to continue, causing the server to be contacted to retry validation again after the game started. I'll get that investigated tonight for my 1.1.1 update!
05-13-2018, 04:49 PM
#19
Joined: Jul 2017
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 135
Side note, for those who have disabled ads with the IAP, what do you think about being able to set the color of your name on the leaderboard? Up until now, I never seen a game let you do that and thought it was a cool and special way to show your support as well as get something cosmetic in return.

Oh, and of course no ads is a great thing
05-13-2018, 05:20 PM
#20
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Somewhere in a town in the middle of the Amazon jungle.
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eat the Moon View Post
Side note, for those who have disabled ads with the IAP, what do you think about being able to set the color of your name on the leaderboard? Up until now, I never seen a game let you do that and thought it was a cool and special way to show your support as well as get something cosmetic in return.

Oh, and of course no ads is a great thing
I find it cool. I really liked being able to choose black. ��

About IAP... is it possible to make Hard and Expert difficulties available in offline mode for paying customers? I usually have pretty bad or no connectivity at all, so having them available offline would really be a proper addition.

You probably have it that way in order for free players to watch some ads, but what about people who paid to get rid of ads?

I didn't know they were avilable in online mode only because I launched the game while I was connected to the internet but then I lost connection and I was like "oh, well, I'll practice Expert now until I can connect..." and then...
(╯‵□′)╯~ ~~┻━┻

About the loading cog in the middle of a game, that's probably what you said about watching an ad for a continue. My connection sucks so it was probably still in the middle of a server communication thingie so that's likely what happened.

About multipliers, yeah, sticking at x99 makes sense but instead of sticking there, it turns into a "x10" (that's what can be seen) and the buttons and score freeze.

I was kinda forced to drop my multiplier to x1 in order to keep playing, and that's how I got my current highscore in Easy difficulty

Last edited by sebgo; 05-13-2018 at 05:29 PM.