Games that players can't control the main character.

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by gpineda1, Jan 13, 2014.

1. gpineda1

gpineda1 Member

Jan 13, 2014
    Being creative and helping clients
    Northern NJ
    I'm a developer and wanted to ask anyone's opinion on this and kinda doubting my the game play in our game, Taboo Tyke.

We developed a game with a cute baby named Tyler but you can't control the main character like other games. You can't make him go left or right or even jump. He just walks and walks like babies do. Well my question, if you are kind enough to provide any opinions, do you think we made a mistake by NOT allowing the players to control the main character and only influence Tyler by dragging to the screen teddy bears and candy which will make him stop and crawl? There are other Action Items in the game but is this concept not familiar in game play and potentially a negative to the game? Does anyone know of another game that has a main character that can't be controlled but only influenced with stuff? I'd love to hear about those games and check them out. Thanks.

Guy

2. JCho133

JCho133 Well-Known Member

Jul 27, 2012
    The recent Colossatron: Massive World Threat had a main "character" (giant alien robotic death snake of destruction) couldn't be controlled (other than a skill where you could make him charge in a direction) which did very well commercially and critically.

In order to answer your question I think I'd need more gameplay details, like the objective of the game etc. I do think your current system sounds interesting but I'd like to hear more before I can provide a definitive answer

3. gpineda1

gpineda1 Member

Jan 13, 2014
    Northern NJ
    #3 gpineda1, Jan 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
  4. JCho133

Jul 27, 2012
    Haha he's so cute! And from what I see here it's definitely NOT. A mistake. The gameplay here looks really novel, and makes it so it's not just another platformer.