new to the whole game making thing help needed

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by Liam2010, Dec 7, 2010.

1. Liam2010

Liam2010 Well-Known Member

Sep 26, 2010
    Hi guys i am brand new to game making, i would like to know a few things

1. do you have to buy the game development kit off apple.com to make an iphone game that can be on the app store

2.what is a good andd basic game maker to use to learn the basics

3. are there any good books, web articles about how to make a game

4. do i need a mac computer

5. can game making be costly, not including hiring designers etc.

2. u2elan

u2elan Well-Known Member

Nov 8, 2010
    iOS Developer
    Portland, OR
    Hi Liam,

I think I may be a good person to answer your questions. My business partner and I are just wrapping up our first iOS game. It's sort of a dream come true, as I've been a developer for years and have always wanted to do this, but it has been a long, wild ride!

0) You don't need to buy a game development kit from Apple, but you do need to be apart of the developer program and that costs $100. You can get started for free, though, and develop on the iPhone simulator, so don't let that hold you back!

1) I would suggest not using a pre-packaged game maker and invest in learning to develop for an environment like cocos2d. You'll be glad you did, as you'll have a lot of flexibility and control to let your creative vision shine.

2) There are tons of resources out there, including many right here in the forums. I haven't posted a ton here, but people post really valuable information in here all the time. I personally believe there is no substitute for experience, so in my opinion, I think you should dive right in and give it your best shot!

3) Yep, you need a mac to develop for iOS.