Feedback on art style for a simple top down game

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by Destined, Sep 8, 2013.

1. Destined

Destined Well-Known Member

Aug 11, 2013
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H79zx74m_e4

I am looking for feedback on if the level looks good enough. I am not really an artist but I have been trying to work within my limitations to create a visually appealing level.

I haven't textured the character yet and the buttons are obviously temporary.

For those interested in gameplay, it is a simple you have to find the cube then have a set time to get back to the lift before it goes into lockdown. Touching any object or wall puts the place into lockdown and you lose. Obviously levels will be more challenging than this You just touch the screen in the direction you want to move the character and he moves.

2. EvilArev

EvilArev Well-Known Member

Mar 24, 2011
    Play with lights. A lot. While keeping the assets fairly simple you'll achieve some interesting atmosphere. Try goind bold with it. Bake some Ambient Occlusion onto the lightmaps. The objects themselves could use some more detail. Specifficaly not being all rectangular. That is unless you're making you game Minecraft-style ;) You may also try adding some objects that would mildly obscure player's view of the ground - pipes mounted just below the ceiling, some steam coming out of a ventilation shaft, etc.
    Let us know what you've came up with.

3. nocanwin

nocanwin Well-Known Member

Jun 11, 2009
    IMHO, if you lose by hitting objects then I would go with an orthographic camera or pull the camera back and go with a narrower fov. The way it's distorting the geometry is going to cause frustration.

4. BlindAlbino

BlindAlbino Well-Known Member

Dec 19, 2012
    I am Co-Founder and Art Director for Blind Albino,
    La Habra Hights, California