Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Other > Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-17-2013, 05:49 PM
lord-sam lord-sam is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bathplug View Post
How come no dpad controls?

How do we map controls for games like gta vice city which has separate controls for on foot and driving? Blutrol only seems to allow one screenshot & one controller configuration per game.
Most of it is luck and acceptance of a half-arsed control system.

When you get in a car, the accelerator is in the same place as the run button, therefore you can use run and drive the same. However, guesswork play a part in the rest.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-17-2013, 06:08 PM
Bathplug Bathplug is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lord-sam View Post
Most of it is luck and acceptance of a half-arsed control system.

When you get in a car, the accelerator is in the same place as the run button, therefore you can use run and drive the same. However, guesswork play a part in the rest.
I think the controls are fine in vice city. I did manage to get it to work but its only temporarily fix. Set up the on foot controls then go on the game. Then go back to blutrol and overwrite the foot controls screenshot with a driving controls screenshot and remap controls again. The game will remember both setups until you load the game again.

Also you don't get a full range of motion with the analog stick in real racing 3. Same with modern combat 4 if you try and use either first the two control options.

Lots of games have multiple layers of controls so I would've thought blutrol would support that properly by now. Plus no individual dpad button mapping. A bit disappointing so far.

Last edited by Bathplug; 03-19-2013 at 12:46 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-18-2013, 10:46 PM
BruteOutlawz BruteOutlawz is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 467
Default

Just configure the controls in game for vice city so the walk and driving controls are in the same place. And what do you mean theres no dpad mapping? dpad mapping is there as well as analog
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-18-2013, 10:52 PM
BruteOutlawz BruteOutlawz is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 467
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lord-sam View Post
Most of it is luck and acceptance of a half-arsed control system.

When you get in a car, the accelerator is in the same place as the run button, therefore you can use run and drive the same. However, guesswork play a part in the rest.
You can move the controls for on foot and driving controls in game..

No guesswork needed.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-19-2013, 06:20 AM
lord-sam lord-sam is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruteOutlawz View Post
You can move the controls for on foot and driving controls in game..

No guesswork needed.
Genius! Never thought of that. Haha
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-19-2013, 08:35 AM
gharvaali gharvaali is offline
Junior Member
iPhone (Original), iOS 1.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

i think Why not one more. Is this only for jailbroken ios devices? Will any game be able to use playstation joysticks? Will it be compatible with icade?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-19-2013, 10:01 AM
crunc crunc is offline
👮 Spam Police 🚓
iPhone 4
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,112
Default

Wait- this doesn't allow you to use the d-pad on the PS3 controller? That's a deal killer if true. Is it?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-19-2013, 12:38 PM
Bathplug Bathplug is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crunc View Post
Wait- this doesn't allow you to use the d-pad on the PS3 controller? That's a deal killer if true. Is it?
It works but it's just one circle you can resize over an onscreen dpad. You can't map the four individual dpad buttons to do something else.

Last edited by Bathplug; 03-19-2013 at 12:42 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-19-2013, 03:06 PM
Connector Connector is offline
Banned
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the Chatroom
Posts: 15,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bathplug View Post
It works but it's just one circle you can resize over an onscreen dpad. You can't map the four individual dpad buttons to do something else.
Wow, that is no good. Guess back to the icade core and Gameloft duo gamer joystick for now.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent