Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71  
Old 06-21-2014, 02:33 PM
FRS FRS is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5s
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 114
Default

Well, after playing several games with friends online I can say that the way online multiplayer is implemented is just horrifically cumbersome. These types of games that rely on Game Center for matchmaking and move communication shouldn't even be bothered with if you really want to play a game like this with others.

It's too bad because it has so much potential, but without being able to pause and return later to a game, or at least rejoin a game you often deal with disconnects and lost games because people drop off and can't reconnect. This is a serious problem, especially a board game that lasts as long as a typical Talisman playthrough...

Any developers paying attention... if you've gone to the trouble of implementing your in-game chat server then just go all the way and implement non-Game Center match making and game serving.. It's just lazy to use Game Center for long-drawn out games because the match-making is at its best gankity and its worst completely bugged and un-workable.

That said the single-player experience is quite good, I just can't recommend it for online multiplayer at all.

Last edited by FRS; 06-23-2014 at 12:42 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 06-21-2014, 11:12 PM
Topherunhinged Topherunhinged is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 409
Default

This deserves a lot more notice that it has gotten.

Last edited by Topherunhinged; 06-27-2014 at 08:51 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 07-02-2014, 05:18 PM
ojtitus ojtitus is online now
Senior Member
iPad mini 2, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 2,431
Default

An update with the Frostmarch expansion is now available. Plus the Gambler character is available via IAP.

Edit: And it looks like The Dungeon is going to be the next expansion, that makes me very happy.

Last edited by ojtitus; 07-02-2014 at 05:53 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 07-02-2014, 07:14 PM
trystero trystero is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 512
Default

Zomg. This needs to be universal ASAP
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 07-02-2014, 07:49 PM
CalinR CalinR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 110
Default

Frostmarch update is amazing. I love the new endings, and how you can choose which one you get. The game's becomeing insanely replayable. 290 some adventure cards? You have to me kidding me. Money amazingly well spent, keep rolling out them updates Nomad Games, and I'll keep paying for them lol.

Edit: I just realized you can not in fact choose the ending, that's kind of a bummer lol

Last edited by CalinR; 07-03-2014 at 11:02 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 07-03-2014, 07:46 AM
Topherunhinged Topherunhinged is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 409
Default

Anyone else get a memory allocation error? The app will no longer open for me.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 07-03-2014, 08:36 AM
ojtitus ojtitus is online now
Senior Member
iPad mini 2, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 2,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topherunhinged View Post
Anyone else get a memory allocation error? The app will no longer open for me.
I have not had this problem. Did you try rebooting your device after downloading the update?
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 07-03-2014, 11:04 AM
CalinR CalinR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topherunhinged View Post
Anyone else get a memory allocation error? The app will no longer open for me.
Neither have I. Try doing a memory cache dump. Make like you're gonna turn off your device, but instead of sliding the power "button", hold down the home button. It should just return to normal instead of turning off, but it'll in fact clear the RAM cache, if the above solution doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 07-03-2014, 02:35 PM
Topherunhinged Topherunhinged is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalinR View Post
Neither have I. Try doing a memory cache dump. Make like you're gonna turn off your device, but instead of sliding the power "button", hold down the home button. It should just return to normal instead of turning off, but it'll in fact clear the RAM cache, if the above solution doesn't work.
Didn't work, neither did a full reboot. It's got to be an app error.

*Solved. An app reinstall fixed the issue, I'm a bit dissapointed that I lost my rune progress though.

Last edited by Topherunhinged; 07-03-2014 at 03:15 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 07-03-2014, 08:07 PM
CalinR CalinR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topherunhinged View Post
Didn't work, neither did a full reboot. It's got to be an app error.

*Solved. An app reinstall fixed the issue, I'm a bit dissapointed that I lost my rune progress though.
Glad to hear it finally worked, sorry about the rune progress.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent