Blockade v1.1 Update [Accepting Beta Applications]

03-04-2012, 11:39 PM
#11
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,268
I went ahead and signed up for the beta.

Game Center: MarinasideSteve
03-05-2012, 02:40 AM
#12
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Redding, CA, USA
Posts: 11,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeraien View Post
@LordGek: Thanks for those kind words!
In a more detailed answer to your question on the bonus: The difficulty of the game is calculated based on your score, so we figured that it would be weird if getting more points via combos and power ups would just make the game end faster, thus by getting more bonus points, you're actually able to get a higher score while not increasing difficulty.

We're also going to put in a new triggered power up that will prevent new ships from arriving for a short time, Jump Space Disruption
So now you have to choose between bribe, time dilation or JSD

@Gladiator12: Welcome!
Although there won't be a new release until after GDC :-P
Basic question:

Can the Bribe power-up show up in scenarios with no cops or can all scenarios eventually have cops if you hold on long enough? If it can show up in a scenario where it will never have any relevance, hopefully grabbing one still has some minor useful side-effect (like some bonus points?).

Tim "Lord Gek" Jordan, Game Consultant
OpenFeint, Plus+, & Twitter: LordGek
GameCenter, Crystal, & iTunes: Lord Gek
My iTunes Reviews
03-05-2012, 03:01 AM
#13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordGek View Post
Basic question:

Can the Bribe power-up show up in scenarios with no cops or can all scenarios eventually have cops if you hold on long enough? If it can show up in a scenario where it will never have any relevance, hopefully grabbing one still has some minor useful side-effect (like some bonus points?).
Bribe only appears in missions with the possibility of cops, and the only mission with really late cops right now is Checkpoint. Still debating how to handle it, but I'm thinking that maybe one could receive bonus point(s) if a triggered power up is taken and replaces another one, so like if you take a time dilation and you already have bribe, you recycle the bribe for some credits... Another option might be to actually give a bonus for every power up, but that might inflate the score a bit too much.
03-05-2012, 11:04 AM
#14
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Redding, CA, USA
Posts: 11,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeraien View Post
Bribe only appears in missions with the possibility of cops, and the only mission with really late cops right now is Checkpoint. Still debating how to handle it, but I'm thinking that maybe one could receive bonus point(s) if a triggered power up is taken and replaces another one, so like if you take a time dilation and you already have bribe, you recycle the bribe for some credits... Another option might be to actually give a bonus for every power up, but that might inflate the score a bit too much.
No, if it only can appear in levels that will at least eventually have the coppers, the current deal is fine.

Tim "Lord Gek" Jordan, Game Consultant
OpenFeint, Plus+, & Twitter: LordGek
GameCenter, Crystal, & iTunes: Lord Gek
My iTunes Reviews