★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Localization question to developers - do you avoid text in graphics?

04-21-2009, 12:53 PM
#1
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 439
Localization question to developers - do you avoid text in graphics?

I'm wondering what practice you guys follow. Seems like having text within graphics (buttons for example) would make localization a headache, as you need new graphics for each language... do you leave text out of graphics?
04-21-2009, 03:03 PM
#2
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkanigon View Post
I'm wondering what practice you guys follow. Seems like having text within graphics (buttons for example) would make localization a headache, as you need new graphics for each language... do you leave text out of graphics?
Yes, avoid text in graphics as much as possible!

There may be exceptions (Big logos, title graphics etc) but on the whole... avoid it, it'll save you big headaches in the long run.

Always be weary of long german, russian and japanese versions of english words though. Try not to fit english text to exact dimensions of boxes and such.

04-21-2009, 03:39 PM
#3
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkanigon View Post
I'm wondering what practice you guys follow. Seems like having text within graphics (buttons for example) would make localization a headache, as you need new graphics for each language... do you leave text out of graphics?
For me, anything that has text is a UILabel. Buttons for me are blank images with UILabels superimposed. Hopefully when I go to localize, it will be pretty trivial as a result.
04-21-2009, 04:07 PM
#4
Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseTreeRobot View Post
Yes, avoid text in graphics as much as possible!

There may be exceptions (Big logos, title graphics etc) but on the whole... avoid it, it'll save you big headaches in the long run.

Always be weary of long german, russian and japanese versions of english words though. Try not to fit english text to exact dimensions of boxes and such.
Using and automatic translator makes you look so stupid.
Sorry, but I couldn't help telling you...
04-21-2009, 04:12 PM
#5
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 439
Thanks for the info guys.
04-21-2009, 04:43 PM
#6
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 430
Most of our games mix baked in text in graphics and strings. Moto Chaser is entirely images, no text at all. Works fine in French, Spanish, Italian, German, Japanese and Chinese.

I've made a lot of games. You've played them.
04-21-2009, 09:43 PM
#7
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 430
Instead of having the word fire in your button have a picture.