★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

can game center work with ad hoc testers?

07-22-2011, 05:35 PM
#1
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 94
can game center work with ad hoc testers?

Doing some ad-hoc provisioned beta testing, for a game not yet released on the app store. I want to test my game center stuff with beta testers now, but will this work since the games not 'live'? so far i've only done debug builds to my own device using game center sandbox.

Games delivered fresh.

See AMAZING MeatBot! or visit our Dev Blog
07-22-2011, 06:53 PM
#2
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkmangames View Post
Doing some ad-hoc provisioned beta testing, for a game not yet released on the app store. I want to test my game center stuff with beta testers now, but will this work since the games not 'live'? so far i've only done debug builds to my own device using game center sandbox.
I'm confused by this question. Are you not sending your testers ad-hoc versions too? If Ad-Hoc works for you, why wouldn't it work for them?

Since it is a test... it's something that could be tested while testing.

Michael Garofalo - App Developer and author of The Unofficial GameSalad Textbook.
07-23-2011, 08:47 AM
#3
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 10,505
Gamecenter does work with ad-hoc builds. Your testers will need to log in to a sandbox account (they can use the same id they already have or create a new one just for beta testing) and any scores or achievements they got while playing the ad-hoc build will not be shown when accessing GC from the release version of the game.
07-23-2011, 03:30 PM
#4
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 94
Ah ok thank you. The part that wasn't clear to me was whether non-debug builds could create sandbox accounts! Thanks!

Games delivered fresh.

See AMAZING MeatBot! or visit our Dev Blog
07-24-2011, 10:11 AM
#5
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Athens
Posts: 66
Highly enlightening answers; that was something I've been wondering about myself. Thanks!

Oh, and I guess there should be more info available somewhere in the Game Center documentation/site.