Why Flash on main site?

08-03-2011, 04:40 AM
#1
Why Flash on main site?

Hi

I've just got a macbook air 11 and sometimes have that with me rather than the iPad.

I still like to check out TA via the Air but as it don't have flash - all the videos show plugin missing.

I'm not going to install flash plugin as battery life on this Air is even more critical to me as I'm using it for editing work.

Seeing as H264 is served to iOS devices, why is flash still the default for laptops etc - is there a way I can request non-flash site without changing Safari user agent string to mobile safari - which i don't want to do for viewing full sites elsewhere

cheers

menom

He who hath no name, hath eathy way to evade polithe
08-03-2011, 04:51 AM
#2
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Belfast N Ireland
Posts: 2,050
I know it's not really my place to reply here but I experimented with Safari a while back and used a safari extension called youtube5 it sounds like what you might be after.

http://www.verticalforest.com/2010/1...be5-version-2/

The extension worked quite well but I overall found safari much to slow and buggy to keep with it.

I don't mean to sound bitter, cold, or cruel, but I am, so that's how it comes out

Last edited by Teknikal; 08-03-2011 at 05:04 AM. Reason: changed link to authors page

08-03-2011, 10:33 AM
#3
Joined: Feb 1983
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,267,843
We use YouTube because it works so well with iOS devices. Opt in to the HTML 5 version and all of your wildest dreams will come true- http://www.youtube.com/html5
08-03-2011, 05:26 PM
#4
Thanks Eli,

I remember doing that with my desktop mac some time back - my short term-memory loss is getting longer!

He who hath no name, hath eathy way to evade polithe
08-03-2011, 05:28 PM
#5
Cheers Teknikal,

I'll go with the Youtube HTML5 opt-in for now as I think it worked before on the desktop - but i'll keep that link to hand as another option

He who hath no name, hath eathy way to evade polithe
08-03-2011, 06:57 PM
#6
Click to flash is excellent too. It replaces many videos on sites(including youtube) that use flash with html5 so give that a try as well.

Youtube5 is great too but it only works with youtube.

Gamecenter: Rorschach90
08-04-2011, 06:36 AM
#7
thanks Watabou

I had click to flash on the old Powerbook G4 - but having read Gruber's point on Daring Fireball, I'm going to keep the flash plugin off my machine -

that way web designers / admin sees more people going to their sites not seeing their content if it's flash only - with click to flash they don't know that it's been blocked

It's a way of speeding up the transition away from flash full stop (in theory)

He who hath no name, hath eathy way to evade polithe
08-12-2011, 07:07 PM
#8
PS. Clicking to join the Youtube HTML5 thing and getting the message that I'm now opted in didn't work

I still get blank bits with 'Plugin missing' message

He who hath no name, hath eathy way to evade polithe
08-13-2011, 09:43 PM
#9
Quote:
Originally Posted by menom View Post
PS. Clicking to join the Youtube HTML5 thing and getting the message that I'm now opted in didn't work

I still get blank bits with 'Plugin missing' message
Try not joining the youtube html5 trial. You shoudn't need it if you're using safari with youtube5. It automatically converts flash videos to h264.

I don't have flash either on my mac and I use Firefox and joined the html5 youtube trial. It works great for toucharcade's video links. I see all of them in html5. I still see the plug in missing on some videos that don't have html5 enabled and if I absolutely need to view them, I use Chrome, which has a built in flash plugin, which seems like the only good think about it. haha.

Gamecenter: Rorschach90

Last edited by Watabou; 08-13-2011 at 09:53 PM.
08-16-2011, 11:40 AM
#10
Yeah decided to go with Chrome as a 'Break in case of emergency' app

cheers

He who hath no name, hath eathy way to evade polithe