Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #681  
Old 09-19-2012, 11:23 AM
Teh_Ninja Teh_Ninja is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5s, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,833
Default

So I got 10,000 coins for having purchased the online leader boards in the previous version?
Reply With Quote
  #682  
Old 09-19-2012, 11:37 AM
Selachii Selachii is offline
Senior Member
iPhone (Original)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 476
Send a message via MSN to Selachii Send a message via Skype™ to Selachii
Default

@teh_Ninja: correct

@poli: We have heard a similar report, it would be awesome if you could send your crash report to support@firigames.com (here's how to find those). If it is the same issue, we have already submitted a fix, if not, please send us your crash reports

Quote:
After plugging in the device, and syncing with iTunes, crash logs can be found in the following locations, depending on the platform:
Mac OS X: ~/Library/Logs/CrashReporter/MobileDevice/<DEVICE_NAME>

Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\<USERNAME>\Application Data\Apple Computer\Logs\CrashReporter\MobileDevice\<DEVICE_N AME>

Windows Vista or 7: C:\Users\<USERNAME>\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\Logs\CrashReporter\MobileDevice\<DEVICE_N AME>
Reply With Quote
  #683  
Old 09-19-2012, 01:02 PM
sapphire_neo sapphire_neo is online now
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,517
Default

Wait, did you guys drop the GC friends leaderboards?
Reply With Quote
  #684  
Old 09-19-2012, 01:23 PM
tops2 tops2 is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,852
Default

Great update as others have mentioned.

I kinda miss the old list of high scores. Its easier to see how far you are away from the next set of scores for me to beat... Is it difficult to bring back the old list of high scores as an option?

While it doesn't matter, but is the option to set visible hitbox gone now?

A possible bug.. I normally play most games with the sound muted. I touched the preview ship button, and the video didn't seem to respect the volume setting, and continued to have sound even after I exited the video. It seems like the sound is using the setting for alerts instead of for the general volume settings. Is this a bug?

Otherwise, another great update.
Reply With Quote
  #685  
Old 09-19-2012, 01:28 PM
Teh_Ninja Teh_Ninja is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5s, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,833
Default

I'm ranked 9th in Texas


I'm loving this update, especially the "black-and-white" near death thing.
Reply With Quote
  #686  
Old 09-19-2012, 01:44 PM
EfratBarTal EfratBarTal is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tel-Aviv
Posts: 2,290
Default

the black and white near death is amazing. been waiting for this update for quite a long time.. honestly, i thought it might not happen. glad to see it live, at last. thanks, Firi!
Reply With Quote
  #687  
Old 09-19-2012, 02:38 PM
Connector Connector is offline
In Time-Out
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the Chatroom
Posts: 14,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selachii View Post
We prefer to have the whole difficulty and progression system in the background. The locking of stars was previously intended as an extra layer on top of the automatic progression. However, over time it developed so that you needed to set the difficulty to your level to get the best experience. A lot of people didn't know or understand this so it remained on 1 star, not providing the proper challenge.
I'm also confused by this difficulty settings. Usually, I play all my shmups on the highest difficulty settings cause it is the most fun, however, with this game, you have to also be in the coin getting mode, so now the 5 star setting may be a little too hard.

So my setting is locked at 5 stars. If I reset, my difficulty goes to 1, but I won't be able to choose another right?

How does the difficulty go up after that? Do different difficulties represent different levels?

Or does the difficulty change after you pass all of the levels, then you get to the next higher difficulty?

I'm a little afraid to change my difficulty and getting reset, cause then I may not find the game as fun since the bullets will be slower and less I figure. And it may take a long time to get back up to 5 star difficulty.

I for one, am inclined to vote for putting back the difficulty change option, maybe you can make difficulties change with a pop up when you reach it, or maybe make the difficulty level change an option for like 500 coins or something.

I don't really know what will happen after a difficulty reset, so my views might change after doing so, but right now I am still scared of doing it, any other players reset yet? Is it worth it? And I'm sure getting coins on lower difficulty settings is much easer right?

And are leaderboards tied to difficulty settings? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #688  
Old 09-19-2012, 02:43 PM
Selachii Selachii is offline
Senior Member
iPhone (Original)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 476
Send a message via MSN to Selachii Send a message via Skype™ to Selachii
Default

Thanks guys, we're super happy with the black&white mode and glad you like it too. Trust me, it isn't easy to build something like that and keep it running at 60fps with thousands of animated particles on the screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapphire_neo View Post
Wait, did you guys drop the GC friends leaderboards?
I wouldn't say 'drop', but they are indeed currently not available. It is scheduled for a later update. We had to manage our time on this, already huge, update. Phoenix HD 1.x did not work with iOS6, so the iOS6 release basically determined our deadline.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tops2 View Post
I kinda miss the old list of high scores. Its easier to see how far you are away from the next set of scores for me to beat... Is it difficult to bring back the old list of high scores as an option?
I don't think we'll go back to list views, probably just for the GC friends leaderboards However, we added the 'medals' to provide targets to beat. If you have the highest medal in your area, just zoom out, your medal targets will appear.


Quote:
While it doesn't matter, but is the option to set visible hitbox gone now?
Indeed, this is also something we had to postpone. If it comes back though, it will look different (better) than previously.

The menu sounds do behave differently, I don't know the technical details, but we know about it, that's all I can say at this point



Regarding the whole difficulty settings thing. Don't worry!

It's not easier or faster to gain coins on different difficulty levels.

The stars go up automatically based on the score you have achieved. Resetting the difficulty drops it back to 1 star and you will progress again depending on the score you get.

I think I wrote a very long piece about the difficulty/progression system of Phoenix HD somewhere in the past, but I'll re-iterate the relevant parts:
  • The more stars, the more score you get per enemy.
  • The more stars, the faster you level up at the start. This only works for a fixed number of levels (depends on the stars) and makes sure you do not have to spend much time fighting easy encounters over and over.
  • The more stars, the faster enemy projectiles move.
So all the stars are on the same Leaderboards and you can assume that the 1-stars are lower than the 5-stars Who knows though, maybe some guy plays an epic 5 hour 1-star game and approaches a good 5-star score
Hope this answers your question, feel free to comment though, I'll gladly answer everything on your mind

Last edited by Selachii; 09-19-2012 at 03:00 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #689  
Old 09-19-2012, 04:20 PM
SumoSplash SumoSplash is offline
In Time-Out
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.
Posts: 2,100
Default

I have SO much to comment on, but I am simultaneously so engrossed in the game that I have no time to type. Quite the dilemma
Reply With Quote
  #690  
Old 09-19-2012, 05:35 PM
Connector Connector is offline
In Time-Out
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the Chatroom
Posts: 14,835
Default

Waahhhh.... Sob... Sob...

I was number one in Los Angeles, in fact, number one in the whole world yesterday night!

Now, I'm only 462 in Los Angeles, 4098 in the world!

Ahhh, fame is so fleeting! Sigh...

Signed off,
Connector -> former #1 player in the world!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent