★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.
09-13-2011, 11:31 AM
#61
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: California
Posts: 938
Post deleted...

My problem was user error, not a bug.

Last edited by Ubisububi; 09-13-2011 at 11:33 PM.
09-13-2011, 03:19 PM
#62
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 214
cool game

09-13-2011, 04:31 PM
#63
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,153
I am truly puzzled as to why some iPad 2 owners were experiencing a lot of bugs in this game whereas others did not experience any?

I wonder what the differences are.

What version of iOS are you using? 4.3.3 or 4.3.5?
Is your device jailbroken? If so, is there a bug in mobilesubstrate or a conflict with some Cydia apps in your device (I can't imagine this to be so) since the game is supposedly sandboxed?
Is this a memory issue? With too many background apps running?
09-13-2011, 11:54 PM
#64
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by y2kmp3 View Post
I am truly puzzled as to why some iPad 2 owners were experiencing a lot of bugs in this game whereas others did not experience any?

I wonder what the differences are.

What version of iOS are you using? 4.3.3 or 4.3.5?
Is your device jailbroken? If so, is there a bug in mobilesubstrate or a conflict with some Cydia apps in your device (I can't imagine this to be so) since the game is supposedly sandboxed?
Is this a memory issue? With too many background apps running?
Haven't had any problems running the game at all and I havent shut off/reset my device for a while, maybe for a week and usually having a few apps backgrounded. Running iOS 5 Beta 7, non-jailbroken on a 64gb wi-fi only iPad 2.
09-14-2011, 06:26 PM
#65
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by y2kmp3 View Post
I am truly puzzled as to why some iPad 2 owners were experiencing a lot of bugs in this game whereas others did not experience any?

I wonder what the differences are.

What version of iOS are you using? 4.3.3 or 4.3.5?
Is your device jailbroken? If so, is there a bug in mobilesubstrate or a conflict with some Cydia apps in your device (I can't imagine this to be so) since the game is supposedly sandboxed?
Is this a memory issue? With too many background apps running?
Maybe their devices were jailbroken?
09-14-2011, 08:17 PM
#66
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by soldat7 View Post
Maybe their devices were jailbroken?
Nope.

Then you need to dip your fingers in some mayo and smear it all over your iDevice screen for greater REALISM!
--Tim "Lord Gek" Jordan
09-15-2011, 08:59 PM
#67
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 748
My iPad 2 is a 16 GB wi-fi model, it is not jailbroken, and it is running the most recent version of iOS. I also have never run it with other apps running in the background either. The bugs seem more software related than hardware related. The people who haven't experienced any bugs are quite lucky. Not all bugs ALWAYS occur, and they may only occur if you do something in a specific way, or they could just be random. Since it's a port and not a from-the-ground-up rebuild, the bugs are probably a result of that.

Speaking of which, I've found another (minor) bug:
When playing the hint book mini-game, after killing a spider and going through the web where it was, you may die. Doesn't always happen, but it happened to me several times.

A theory about some of the people not experiencing bugs, is that they actually might be, but they don't know it, because they've never played it before. Some bugs are obvious, but others might lead one to believe that they are simply stumped by a puzzle (disappearing items for example). Not saying that's what it is, but it might be. Dunno.
09-15-2011, 09:21 PM
#68
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: India
Posts: 963
a little naive question... but why should a point-and-click require juice that only an iPad 2 can deliver? Not pissed or anything that it wont work on my iPod, since i can still play it on my iPad, but mighty curious.

---------------------------
Mom Says Get Married!!
09-16-2011, 05:43 AM
#69
Machinarium

The goal of Machinarium is to solve a series of puzzles and brain teasers. The puzzles are linked together by an overworld consisting of a traditional "point and click" adventure story. The overworld's most radical departure is that only objects within the player character's reach can be clicked on. Machinarium is notable in that it contains no dialogue, spoken or written, and apart from a few tutorial prompts on the first screen, is devoid of understandable language entirely. The game instead uses a system of animated thought bubbles. Easter egg back story scenes in the same format can only be revealed by idling in certain areas.
09-19-2011, 01:43 PM
#70
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: iPhoneLand
Posts: 2,112
What's New in Version 1.1

Several bug fixes.

Twitter : [@John_Hasio]
iPhoneHellas Review Team member