★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

How to have a game connect to a server?

10-23-2011, 11:38 AM
#1
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 22
How to have a game connect to a server?

Hello,
Not sure how to explain this...
I'm not the actual developer but want to have some basic understanding before I approach a developer to do this.
I want a 'News' section inside a game menu that connects to a remote site displaying information. I think this is relatively easy to do.
What I also want to do is have the game check if there is a new information to display and alert the player. Is THIS something I have to setup an actual server for? If so, how complicated is it to setup a server?
Another thing is for a free game to have a splash screen at the beginning of the game when it loads that displays a screen according to what I adjust on a server.

Check our new game Speed Motor Racing - How Fast Can You Drive In 30 Seconds?
DoronD Apps Facebook Page
Follow me on Twitter
10-27-2011, 08:04 PM
#2
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 45
Send a message via MSN to weilies Send a message via Skype™ to weilies
U can try out pubnub if u need a realtime game creation

If u jz need a farmvallie alike game, u must master web programming, DB architecture, game programming all
Then get ur app to ping web server and react based on acknowledged MSG
10-27-2011, 09:55 PM
#3
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by weilies View Post
U can try out pubnub if u need a realtime game creation

If u jz need a farmvallie alike game, u must master web programming, DB architecture, game programming all
Then get ur app to ping web server and react based on acknowledged MSG
Thank you for the information weilies.

Check our new game Speed Motor Racing - How Fast Can You Drive In 30 Seconds?
DoronD Apps Facebook Page
Follow me on Twitter