★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Can no longer debug on iPod touch

05-06-2009, 06:24 PM
#1
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 101
Can no longer debug on iPod touch

I've been doing iPod Touch development for a number of months now and everything was fine and now all of a sudden, when I build my App and try to debug it it says "Failed to upload MyGame.app".

As far as I can tell, I haven't messed with anything, I was able to debug something fine earlier today.

I tried doing a Clean All and rebuilding.. rebooted, restarted Xcode.. tried reinstalling my Provisioning profile.. restoring the iPod Touch to defaults, upgrading the firmware.. none of that did the trick. :P

Funny thing is that after I get that message, I look on the iPod Touch and the App is there and launches just fine. But that means I've lost the ability to debug my app in realtime on the Touch.

When I look at my Console logs, I see this.. I can't seem to find any relevant sites in Google when I search for any of those messages.

5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x37037].com.apple.iTunes[539] MobileDevice: receive_message: msize 136814 exceeds 131072 limit
5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x37037].com.apple.iTunes[539] MobileDevice: call_and_response: Could not receive response from proxy
5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x37037].com.apple.iTunes[539] MobileDevice: perform_command: There was an error communicating with the service agent: -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x37037].com.apple.iTunes[539] MobileDevice: AMDeviceBrowseApplications: Could not browse applications from device: kAMDReceiveMessageError
5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x37037].com.apple.iTunes[539] MobileDevice: AMDeviceLookupApplications: Could not browse -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: receive_message: msize 136814 exceeds 131072 limit
5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: call_and_response: Could not receive response from proxy
5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: perform_command: There was an error communicating with the service agent: -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: AMDeviceBrowseApplications: Could not browse applications from device: kAMDReceiveMessageError
5/6/09 4:16:56 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: AMDeviceLookupApplications: Could not browse -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:57 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: receive_message: msize 136814 exceeds 131072 limit
5/6/09 4:16:57 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: call_and_response: Could not receive response from proxy
5/6/09 4:16:57 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: perform_command: There was an error communicating with the service agent: -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:57 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: AMDeviceBrowseApplications: Could not browse applications from device: kAMDReceiveMessageError
5/6/09 4:16:57 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: AMDeviceLookupApplications: Could not browse -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:58 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: receive_message: msize 136814 exceeds 131072 limit
5/6/09 4:16:58 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: call_and_response: Could not receive response from proxy
5/6/09 4:16:58 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: perform_command: There was an error communicating with the service agent: -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:58 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: AMDeviceBrowseApplications: Could not browse applications from device: kAMDReceiveMessageError
5/6/09 4:16:58 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: AMDeviceLookupApplications: Could not browse -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:59 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: receive_message: msize 136814 exceeds 131072 limit
5/6/09 4:16:59 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: call_and_response: Could not receive response from proxy
5/6/09 4:16:59 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: perform_command: There was an error communicating with the service agent: -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:59 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: AMDeviceBrowseApplications: Could not browse applications from device: kAMDReceiveMessageError
5/6/09 4:16:59 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: AMDeviceLookupApplications: Could not browse -402653138
5/6/09 4:16:59 PM [0x0-0x7f07f].com.apple.Xcode[2833] MobileDevice: AMDeviceLookupApplications: Could not browse -402653138

Many thanks in advance, this is a pretty big setback..
05-06-2009, 06:58 PM
#2
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 101
Couple of updates.. I also provisioned my other iPhone for the first time (never used it for development before).. as well as starting with a brand new Hello World xcode project and neither one worked.. same "Failed to upload app" error message.
05-06-2009, 08:23 PM
#3
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: App Tech Studios, USA
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by lithiastudios View Post
Couple of updates.. I also provisioned my other iPhone for the first time (never used it for development before).. as well as starting with a brand new Hello World xcode project and neither one worked.. same "Failed to upload app" error message.
This has happened to me before and I totally freaked out. All I did was quit Xcode (and all other involved programs), restart computer and device. Then clean all targets (under the build bar at the top of Xcode) and try again.


I hope this helps!! Sorry that you had to experience this dreadful time
05-07-2009, 07:49 PM
#4
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by WellSpentYouth View Post
This has happened to me before and I totally freaked out. All I did was quit Xcode (and all other involved programs), restart computer and device. Then clean all targets (under the build bar at the top of Xcode) and try again.


I hope this helps!! Sorry that you had to experience this dreadful time
Thanks for the tips, unfortunately that didn't work.

One thing I realized was that I had added more of my game's data to my info.plist right around the time it stopped working. I thought maybe info.plist was getting too big or something so I removed all my game data and viola! it works.

I was thinking for awhile that storing my game's level data as NSArrays inside Info.plist was probably a bad practice, but it was working so I ran with it.

So lesson learned, don't mess with Info.plist, store your data elsewhere. Now I'm hoping if I put all my game data in a separate plist that it works. I imagine it will, if not I can come up with a different way to store the data.