Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Other > Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #2561  
Old 06-27-2012, 11:19 PM
SirAwesome SirAwesome is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madman100 View Post
It's a good ad but I don't think they're referring to Nintendo's handheld. I don't even think there's any FPS games on there.
I cant find the website but believe me its a direct jab at the 3ds and the lack of a native second analog stick. And remember not just fps use the second analog stick. A big feature in some 3ds games is whether the developer supports the circle pad pro which is the only way to get a true second analog stick on the system.
Reply With Quote
  #2562  
Old 06-28-2012, 04:28 AM
BrEaKBEaT BrEaKBEaT is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 446
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAwesome View Post
This is a pretty good ad from Sony making fun of the 3ds.

http://www.gamezone.com/products/ps-...e-nintendo-3ds
This is a pattern with Sony, I seem to remember another ad with a kid on a bus poking fun at 'mobile phone games', effectively targeting Apple and I guess Android.... but, seriously, what are they trying to achieve? This kind of direct marketing is a woefully desperate and childlike strategy imo.

Maybe Sony should up their sales before such brazen defiance to systems which dominate their own. Get smart, Sony... and fix my shoddy Vita wifi!
Reply With Quote
  #2563  
Old 06-28-2012, 04:40 AM
BrEaKBEaT BrEaKBEaT is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 446
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tygamr View Post
I haven't had any connectivity issues with my Vita at all. It gets better reception than my iPod touch 4th gen and 3DS do. It normally has three or four bars when I'm several feet away- about 20 (or around 6 meters).

Do you have a 3G or a wi-fi only? Ive got the wi-fi.
Mine is also WIFI only. 3 or 4 bars 6 meters away would only work for me if in the same room as router with literally nothing in the way. Are you usually in the same room?

At work we have 17 different access points, and yesterday I tested with the Vita / iphone together. With no walls, the Vita held signal up to about 10 meters, but then I discovered it wouldn't auto switch to a new AP even when standing directly underneath it. The iphone was flawless in this switching. I had to manually disconnect and reconnect the Vita and it seemed confused for at least a minute.
Reply With Quote
  #2564  
Old 06-28-2012, 05:49 AM
Teknikal Teknikal is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belfast N Ireland
Posts: 2,021
Default

Just downloaded the youtube app and I think it's pretty cool I wish they would put that effort into improving the browser.

Also my vita is fine with wifi ussually shows full bars and my router is ancient it's an old linksys wrt54g (I still use it because it's rock solid the only time I ever managed to crash it was with itunes sync).

Also think Resistance is pretty good actually I hate the blocky video clips but I'm actually pretty amazed some reviewers were so harsh on it after playing it.
Reply With Quote
  #2565  
Old 06-28-2012, 01:04 PM
Madman100 Madman100 is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (4th Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrEaKBEaT View Post
This kind of direct marketing is a woefully desperate and childlike strategy imo.
"With only one thumb, it's only half the FPS console experience. Thumbs up for dual analog."

I fail to see how this is direct marketing, or childlike. I remember Nintendo advertising their 3D element yet I thought nothing of it, just a company promoting their system's exclsive features. The PSP also has a single analog btw.
Reply With Quote
  #2566  
Old 06-28-2012, 01:08 PM
tygamr tygamr is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5s, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrEaKBEaT View Post
Mine is also WIFI only. 3 or 4 bars 6 meters away would only work for me if in the same room as router with literally nothing in the way. Are you usually in the same room?

At work we have 17 different access points, and yesterday I tested with the Vita / iphone together. With no walls, the Vita held signal up to about 10 meters, but then I discovered it wouldn't auto switch to a new AP even when standing directly underneath it. The iphone was flawless in this switching. I had to manually disconnect and reconnect the Vita and it seemed confused for at least a minute.
I'm normally in a different room. The room I use it in the most has a wall and a fireplace between it and the router- and I still get a good signal.
Reply With Quote
  #2567  
Old 06-28-2012, 02:56 PM
HardcoreEricXXX HardcoreEricXXX is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (2nd Gen), OS 3.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,041
Default

YO 1337Brian, are you in the US? If so, I've got a REALLY pretty present for you that I'm not able to put to use.
Reply With Quote
  #2568  
Old 06-28-2012, 03:32 PM
Haruhi Haruhi is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,744
Default

I just ordered a 32 GB memory card from Tiger Direct for $71, the lowest price I've seen so far. I might go all digital from now on unless the game has awesome preorder bonuses (don't disappoint me, Atlus).

Edit: A bit late, but if anyone's interested: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=2015331

Last edited by Haruhi; 06-28-2012 at 05:55 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2569  
Old 06-28-2012, 04:52 PM
ChrisL ChrisL is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,999
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haruhi View Post
I just ordered a 32 GB memory card from Tiger Direct for $71, the lowest price I've seen so far. I might go all digital from now on unless the game has awesome preorder bonuses (don't disappoint me, Atlus).
That's a pretty good price. Unfortunately for me, TigerDirect Canada doesn't seem have Vita stuff at all.
Reply With Quote
  #2570  
Old 06-29-2012, 07:33 AM
mashead2000 mashead2000 is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: York - United Kingdom
Posts: 1,141
Default

Wanting to get MGS today but no one has it!!! Will have to try supermarkets tonight
Damn you HMV/Gamestations!! Stock Lego Batman but not Metal Gear?!? Madness!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent