★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Is gamesalad game-breaking

01-07-2012, 11:54 AM
Is gamesalad game-breaking

So, I am currently making a app with Gamesalad. I am two weeks into it, and I am confident that I can make a respectible quality game with a fair amount of polish. I have been programming for 2 years now. My question is, will Gamesalads reputation impact the app, and should I program in Cocos2D or somesuch instead?
01-09-2012, 09:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixlepix View Post
So, I am currently making a app with Gamesalad. I am two weeks into it, and I am confident that I can make a respectible quality game with a fair amount of polish. I have been programming for 2 years now. My question is, will Gamesalads reputation impact the app, and should I program in Cocos2D or somesuch instead?
If you upgrade to Pro, and use a custom splash screen, most people won't know it's GameSalad
...unless you tell them it's GameSalad.

There is a lot of GameSalad hate out there, but some GameSalad games do get respect.

Michael Garofalo - App Developer and author of The Unofficial GameSalad Textbook.

01-09-2012, 11:17 PM
I know of a few great GameSalad games and I think it's an awesome bit of kit. The only major downside for me as a gamer is the load times, but provided you're not looking at a load screen every five seconds it shouldn't be too annoying.

/l、
゙(゚、 。 7 ノ
 l、゙ ~ヽ
 じしf_, )ノ
01-10-2012, 12:22 AM
This is harsh, but you asked for opinions. Honestly, there is so much competition in the App Store, can you afford to take the chance on an inferior game engine?

As for my background, I am strictly a user under IOS, but I made my living from developing software applications on the PC.

Game Center: MarinasideSteve
01-10-2012, 01:17 AM
There are some great GameSalad games, so if you make a good game it will not be an issue for most people.