Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #10051  
Old 12-28-2012, 09:22 AM
JediKnight JediKnight is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: DarthGuy's Deathstar
Posts: 1,408
Default

Sheinfell: You don't need much physics to do this. There is gravity for sure (grenades) so all the developers have to do is this. When the grenade collides make it disappear. Then from that collision point create several "gameobjects" (unity term basically meaning items) and set random angles andshoot them out.when they collide they check if it is a player they hit and if it is they take damage. If it is a wall it does nothing. (use rigidbodies making it stiff but physicy basically adding gravity and giving it mass). After checking for player and the player takes damage, you delete the object.

This is ALL in code of course.

Then add the particle system (to make it look good) that has colliders on the particles. So the explosion would do nothing but sit there then disappear.
Reply With Quote
  #10052  
Old 12-28-2012, 09:36 AM
JediKnight JediKnight is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: DarthGuy's Deathstar
Posts: 1,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePowerofLava View Post
It played a vital role
CONGRATS!
Where did you get the parts? Online?
Reply With Quote
  #10053  
Old 12-28-2012, 09:56 AM
undead.exe undead.exe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arrow0x View Post
and I get... "You were disconnected by the communication device. Try reconnecting. If the problem continues, verify your settings."

LOL
Was that message from within Star Warfare itself?? I've never a message THAT long before...
Reply With Quote
  #10054  
Old 12-28-2012, 10:24 AM
ThePowerofLava ThePowerofLava is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JediKnight View Post
CONGRATS!
Where did you get the parts? Online?
NewEgg.
Reply With Quote
  #10055  
Old 12-28-2012, 10:30 AM
JediKnight JediKnight is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: DarthGuy's Deathstar
Posts: 1,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePowerofLava View Post
NewEgg.
Cool!

I love that website now...

Last edited by JediKnight; 12-28-2012 at 04:44 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #10056  
Old 12-29-2012, 09:46 PM
Arrow0x Arrow0x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by undead.exe View Post
Was that message from within Star Warfare itself?? I've never a message THAT long before...
nah, it was from Settings. I couldn't connect to the VPN it seems.
Reply With Quote
  #10057  
Old 12-29-2012, 10:14 PM
undead.exe undead.exe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arrow0x View Post
nah, it was from Settings. I couldn't connect to the VPN it seems.
I'll look for another one, keep you posted
Reply With Quote
  #10058  
Old 12-30-2012, 09:26 AM
undead.exe undead.exe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by undead.exe View Post
I'll look for another one, keep you posted
The other one I've found which works is found here (USA Hot Free VPN).

One thing I've found with both this one and the other one I showed you is that after connecting, you might need to go to Safari and try accessing a website: you'll get redirected to the VPN's site where it says you need to agree to its terms of use prior to using it. Once you've done that, it'll be a matter of getting it to work in SW, if it's at all possible.

What I've found is that the game won't let me get online if I've got the VPN active. My supposed way around it was to get online prior to activating the VPN, then quickly swipe over to Settings to activate the VPN (four finger swipe on an iPad, or double tap the home button on any iDevice to bring up the taskbar), and then get back to the SW game ASAP before the online server times out.
Reply With Quote
  #10059  
Old 01-01-2013, 12:12 AM
undead.exe undead.exe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,803
Default

Happy New Year from Australia!
Reply With Quote
  #10060  
Old 01-01-2013, 09:55 AM
Sheinfell Sheinfell is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Europe, CET timezone
Posts: 943
Default

And a Happy New Year to everybody from Under (without the Down)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent