★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPad: Mother Lode (need beta testers!)

02-16-2012, 05:46 PM
Mother Lode (need beta testers!)

Hi everyone, I'm a new indie developer finishing up my first game for the iPad. I could really use some help beta testing the game. My blog post about it can be found here.

Mother Lode

It is a family-style board game for two to four players (human or AI). Players try to mine the planet and escape with as much ore as possible before the planet explodes.

Here's some screenshots (more in the blog post above).

Land tiles are flipped over as players take turns. Each tile has an action on the bottom that takes effect when it is flipped (some can be saved for later). These add creatures to the board, let you move your pieces more quickly, cause a quake on the planet, and others.

There are three creature types in the game that will make your escape more difficult. During your turn you are able to move one creature to hinder your opponent or help yourself.

If this intrigues you, please sign up through TestFlight:
http://tflig.ht/vF8w2a

My site: Order of Magnitude Games
Twitter: @oomgames
02-18-2012, 04:39 AM
Applied.

02-18-2012, 04:17 PM
So pretty much a competitive space themed version of Volcano Island?

Tim "Lord Gek" Jordan, Game Consultant
Twitter: LordGek
GameCenter, iTunes: Lord Gek
My iTunes Reviews
02-20-2012, 10:00 PM
Oh wow, I honestly hadn't seen that one.

The coincidence is quite possibly because we were both inspired by the board game Survive: Escape from Atlantis. The reviews for Volcano Island even state as much.

I made many changes to the game play and believe my game can stand on its own. I would invite you to join the beta to see for yourself if you like!

TBH, I wish I had known about Volcano Island earlier as I probably would have gone in a different direction. As it is now, though, I'll just let the market decide.
02-21-2012, 09:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by scartier View Post