★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

vids on front page dont always show

05-13-2009, 10:42 AM
#1
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posts: 388
vids on front page dont always show

sometimes when a video clip is posted on the TouchArcade front page it wont play on the iPod Touch claiming it's a flash item.

seems a bit ironic some videos play and others dont on the Touch.
05-13-2009, 10:57 AM
#2
Joined: Feb 1983
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,268,691
Weird, any video in specific? We are kind of at the mercy of YouTube when it comes to encoding and offering iDevice-friendly videos. I know I've come across a few random ones in the past that weren't available on my iPhone's YouTube viewer app.

What you're probably seeing is an embedded video that we didn't take ourselves, and therefore wasn't uploaded to YouTube. Videos from sites like GameTrailers.com, for example, will just show up as a flash object.

05-13-2009, 11:01 AM
#3
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posts: 388
i'm just looking now and everything is just dandy.

next time i see an error i'll let you know.
05-13-2009, 11:05 AM
#4
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,176
I think when you upload the video it there's an option for like if you want to to apear on mobile devices. I'm assuming that that option is off thus making you not able to see it. Also like someone else said it could be a flash player.
05-13-2009, 11:17 AM
#5
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posts: 388
i'll install Flash as well then
05-13-2009, 11:18 AM
#6
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,252
If it's a video from Vimeo (usually from ngmoco) it won't work.

If it shows the YouTube box thing but with a line across it, it means YouTube is slow, video not yet iPhone compatible.

I'M ON A MAC MOTHAF*@%!

Cloudcell, Plus+, Baseball Slugger, TTR: dannys95
05-13-2009, 03:49 PM
#7
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posts: 388
Phase racer on the front page doesn't work
05-13-2009, 04:12 PM
#8
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjleworthy View Post
Phase racer on the front page doesn't work
thats normal. if u wait a bit ; you'll see it works. its just how youtube works

I'M ON A MAC MOTHAF*@%!

Cloudcell, Plus+, Baseball Slugger, TTR: dannys95
05-13-2009, 10:44 PM
#9
Yeah this happens on every newly embedded video on all websites for me anyway. I just check back in 15 min and it's good to go.
07-04-2011, 07:51 PM
#10
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 602
It does work.