★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: Tripeaks?

08-08-2008, 12:22 AM
#1
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2
Tripeaks?

The only solitaire game that I really dig is Tripeaks. Does anyone know if Solitaire City is the only app with it right now?
08-08-2008, 06:02 PM
#2
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 536
Looks like Solitaire City is your best bet for playing the Tripeaks variant. Solebon, out of all of the solitaire games on the store, looks the most polished & professional. It's priced the same as City, but appears to have fewer games (and doesn't include Tripeaks). Smallware have produced a number of Solitaire games already, on Palm handhelds and the Mac, and Soleban looks right up there with those quality games.

I've tested neither, but I'd like to. I'm half waiting for the price to drop, half thinking I'm mad to spend all this money on software!

Solebon (App Store): http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=283179414&mt=8

08-09-2008, 01:54 AM
#3
Landscape Support in Solitaire City v1.10

I'm fairly sure Solitaire City is the only game in the App Store that features Tri-Peaks. It has both face up and face down versions and a unique timed scoring system where you can try to beat the scores from players all around the world. I've just submitted v1.10 to Apple which adds landscape support and it should appear in the App Store as a free update soon. You can read more about Solitaire City at my website:

http://www.solitairecity.com/iPhone.shtml

Golf solitaire is fairly similar to Tri-Peaks too which is also included in Solitaire City.


Peter Wiseman
(author of Solitaire City and 10 Pin Shuffle)
(owner Digital Smoke LLC)
http://www.digitalsmoke.us
08-11-2008, 08:24 AM
#4
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: CALI
Posts: 81
Ya, I'm a big fan of Tri-Peaks also! I love playing Pogo's version! Waiting for someone for a Tri-Peaks only but might have to cave in and pay 10 bucks for Solitaire City. Looks like a good App.
08-11-2008, 09:11 AM
#5
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Formerly Zimbabwe - now England.
Posts: 1,394
Mondo Solitaire also has Tri-Peaks

Solitaire City is NOT the only game on the store to feature Tri-Peaks.
Mondo Solitaire also has Tri-Peaks as an option, along with more than 100 other games and over 200 different combinations of gameplay.

All the games have multiple set-up options for each too. Tri-peaks in particular has a choice between:
- Ace and King don't wrap.
- Wrap between Ace and King.

See here for more info.
http://www.ambrosiasw.com/games/mondomobile/
08-11-2008, 11:17 AM
#6
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: CALI
Posts: 81
Lag Time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrettArchibald View Post
Solitaire City is NOT the only game on the store to feature Tri-Peaks.
Mondo Solitaire also has Tri-Peaks as an option, along with more than 100 other games and over 200 different combinations of gameplay.

All the games have multiple set-up options for each too. Tri-peaks in particular has a choice between:
- Ace and King don't wrap.
- Wrap between Ace and King.

See here for more info.
http://www.ambrosiasw.com/games/mondomobile/
After reading the reviews I read a lot about lag time with your product. Is this something that will be addressed?
08-11-2008, 12:33 PM
#7
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Formerly Zimbabwe - now England.
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaiderRich721 View Post
After reading the reviews I read a lot about lag time with your product. Is this something that will be addressed?
Heck, it ain't my application. I was just adding to the discussion with the info I knew about a game that I bought awhile ago ;-)
My personal opinion of the game is that it's pretty good, but only when (if) you get used to the "unique" method of working with the cards. It's less drag-and-drop and more click-click-click.
Difficult to explain but if you watch the demo movies on the site you'll get what I mean. If you're ok with sort of thing then I would recommend it. I can't compare it to Solitaire City though as I haven't tried that one. I can only judge it on its own merits.

Last edited by BrettArchibald; 08-11-2008 at 12:42 PM.
08-11-2008, 01:28 PM
#8
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: CALI
Posts: 81
Sorry about the mix up They should put you on their payroll! Thanks again for the info!
08-12-2008, 02:42 PM
#9
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2
thanks everyone!