Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1291  
Old 11-02-2012, 07:35 PM
Triscuitable Triscuitable is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty Harry Hannahan View Post
I think this whole iPad 4 thing is another marketing ploy.
A marketing ploy with a much more powerful device, you mean.
Reply With Quote
  #1292  
Old 11-02-2012, 07:41 PM
Quantum Apocalypse Quantum Apocalypse is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 795
Default

It ought to be just like the iPad 3, but with smoother gameplay with effects on.
Reply With Quote
  #1293  
Old 11-03-2012, 04:35 AM
zergslayer69 zergslayer69 is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 910
Default

Wouldn't gameloft have to update the game so that the extra effects show up on native res?
Reply With Quote
  #1294  
Old 11-04-2012, 01:20 PM
JediKnight JediKnight is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: DarthGuy's Deathstar
Posts: 1,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zergslayer69 View Post
Wouldn't gameloft have to update the game so that the extra effects show up on native res?
maybe - maybe not, they can change the power of a gun without an update so maybe they could do something similar for the extra effects.
Reply With Quote
  #1295  
Old 11-04-2012, 04:30 PM
Rip73 Rip73 is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zergslayer69 View Post
Wouldn't gameloft have to update the game so that the extra effects show up on native res?
Yeah they would.
It's due an upgrade for the iPhone 5 anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JediKnight View Post
maybe - maybe not, they can change the power of a gun without an update so maybe they could do something similar for the extra effects.
They can change certain things on the server side in multiplayer, the native res with effects is a device dependant change that would need to be done on the coding side so an upgrade would be needed.

Last edited by Rip73; 11-04-2012 at 04:33 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #1296  
Old 11-05-2012, 10:26 AM
JediKnight JediKnight is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: DarthGuy's Deathstar
Posts: 1,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rip73 View Post
Yeah they would.
It's due an upgrade for the iPhone 5 anyway.

They can change certain things on the server side in multiplayer, the native res with effects is a device dependant change that would need to be done on the coding side so an upgrade would be needed.
If you update the the code, you update the server which is the same thing... Besides the graphics in the store would change so I think they *should* need an update for both but since they don't the resolution MAY be fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #1297  
Old 11-05-2012, 11:07 AM
Rip73 Rip73 is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JediKnight View Post
If you update the the code, you update the server which is the same thing... Besides the graphics in the store would change so I think they *should* need an update for both but since they don't the resolution MAY be fixed.
I'm sorry, but when i referred to updating the code of the game I was referring to the engine of the game.
Changing the res to native with full effects on iPad 4 can't be done on the server side, its simply not possible.
I may not have been clear.
Reply With Quote
  #1298  
Old 11-05-2012, 02:15 PM
JediKnight JediKnight is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: DarthGuy's Deathstar
Posts: 1,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rip73 View Post
I'm sorry, but when i referred to updating the code of the game I was referring to the engine of the game.
Changing the res to native with full effects on iPad 4 can't be done on the server side, its simply not possible.
I may not have been clear.
Ah, I see, this is for a certain device "Different version literally!" Agreed now.

Still confused if they would need to update all devices... I don't think so... Right?
Reply With Quote
  #1299  
Old 11-05-2012, 06:05 PM
Rip73 Rip73 is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JediKnight View Post
Ah, I see, this is for a certain device "Different version literally!" Agreed now.

Still confused if they would need to update all devices... I don't think so... Right?
Well, the update would have to go live on the App Store and all devices would download and install the update but they all wouldn't implement the changes.
That's one of the issues with iOS and the App Store, a device specific update can't be produced without all devices having to download the changes even if an older wont actually do anything with the changes to the app.
Reply With Quote
  #1300  
Old 11-05-2012, 06:31 PM
Quantus Quantus is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 252
Default

How is Nova on the Mini? Same frame rate as if playing on iPad 2?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent