★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Question to the developpers(about translator's job)

05-20-2009, 04:18 AM
Junior Member [Original Poster]
Question to the developpers(about translator's job)

Hello developers,

Let me introduce myself first,
I am a Chinese 24 years old iPhone gamer.

Here is the point, my english is far to be perfect (as you can see trough these lines) but Chinese people (as we all know) suck a lot in english, and I saw lot of comment in the Taiwan or China AppStore which were like "all in english, need Chinese version!!!".

Then a question came up to my mind, why developers don't look for translators?
I mean I don't think I could handle a 20k words game with a real big story, but there are lot of game which are very easy to translate.

If you need, let me know.
email: wen730816@gmail.com

Best regards,
Renee
05-20-2009, 07:43 AM
I can only speak for myself, but as an American developer, I am not used to considering other languages a required feature. Americans have very little exposure to other languages besides English. Honestly, I wouldn't even know where to begin to translate my application.

From a iPhone developer's point of view, about 80% of sales come from the American store. Adding other languages just isn't worth the time.

05-20-2009, 08:03 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenlem View Post
I can only speak for myself, but as an American developer, I am not used to considering other languages a required feature. Americans have very little exposure to other languages besides English. Honestly, I wouldn't even know where to begin to translate my application.

From a iPhone developer's point of view, about 80% of sales come from the American store. Adding other languages just isn't worth the time.