★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.
06-28-2012, 10:21 AM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 470
Send a message via Skype™ to jdrawmer
How many planes are people using to service their long haul routes?

I've currently got a Fogbuster, a Sequoia, a Cyclone and a Tetra - and even though i've reduced the length of the haul, i'm still finding i'm EASILY filling up the layovers, so think I might add another Cyclone!
06-28-2012, 10:22 AM
So it's still in preliminary testing (and I spent a ton of coins to change it up) but I'm finding at least a 1k per hour boost on my fog busters by using Sao Paulo - Seoul. So route is Sao Paulo - Kimshasa - Mumbai - Seoul. Tokyo to feed Seoul and Santiago to feed Sao Paulo. Everything Pear and up can run each stretch of the route. Not as high numbers per flight as LA to Asia but much shorter flights. Beauty is in the linearity of it, using distance calculator posted previous on here, it's only 1 mile out of route, whereas you lose over 200 going too far north on the NY - London - Tehran bump

~Nimble Quest~
3 Star Characters: Arcane
Arena Record: 320

06-28-2012, 10:29 AM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 470
Send a message via Skype™ to jdrawmer
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwadsit View Post
So it's still in preliminary testing (and I spent a ton of coins to change it up) but I'm finding at least a 1k per hour boost on my fog busters by using Sao Paulo - Seoul. So route is Sao Paulo - Kimshasa - Mumbai - Seoul. Tokyo to feed Seoul and Santiago to feed Sao Paulo. Everything Pear and up can run each stretch of the route. Not as high numbers per flight as LA to Asia but much shorter flights. Beauty is in the linearity of it, using distance calculator posted previous on here, it's only 1 mile out of route, whereas you lose over 200 going too far north on the NY - London - Tehran bump
Sounds like a good idea! I'd probably do the same were it not for the hundreds of thousands i'd lose in selling my upgraded airports and buying / upgrading the ones on the mentioned path.

Although not part of the straight line, do you not think using buenos aires would be better to feed sao paulo, being a class 3? Honolulu was terrible for feeding LA, so i changed my route so that it was NYC --> Beijing instead.
06-28-2012, 10:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrawmer View Post
Sounds like a good idea! I'd probably do the same were it not for the hundreds of thousands i'd lose in selling my upgraded airports and buying / upgrading the ones on the mentioned path.

Although not part of the straight line, do you not think using buenos aires would be better to feed sao paulo, being a class 3? Honolulu was terrible for feeding LA, so i changed my route so that it was NYC --> Beijing instead.
Yeah I think I lost well over 600k changing the route. But it was bugging me not to try. I might add buenos aires as a feeder later (and perhaps another final destination once I get planes that can easily do BA - Kimshasa jump). I'm hoping Santiago can continue to feed even as a Class 2 because of the 7.2 mil pop vs 4 of Honolulu but I'll have to see

~Nimble Quest~
3 Star Characters: Arcane
Arena Record: 320
06-28-2012, 10:36 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrawmer View Post
Sounds like a good idea! I'd probably do the same were it not for the hundreds of thousands i'd lose in selling my upgraded airports and buying / upgrading the ones on the mentioned path.

Although not part of the straight line, do you not think using buenos aires would be better to feed sao paulo, being a class 3? Honolulu was terrible for feeding LA, so i changed my route so that it was NYC --> Beijing instead.
Okay so you did move to NYC. I considered that but really wanted to see if South America route would work before I invested too too much. LA to Asia wasn't ideal, and I thought I could maintain a larger total distance with Sao to Seoul

~Nimble Quest~
3 Star Characters: Arcane
Arena Record: 320
06-28-2012, 10:38 AM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 470
Send a message via Skype™ to jdrawmer
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwadsit View Post
Okay so you did move to NYC. I considered that but really wanted to see if South America route would work before I invested too too much. LA to Asia wasn't ideal, and I thought I could maintain a larger total distance with Sao to Seoul
Yeah it makes total sense, and if your findings show 1k per plane (i assume?) difference, then that's great... On the downside, that would be 2-3 days+ of playing time just to make the cost of setting that up, back!

By the way guys - feel free to add me on GC!

jdrawmer
06-28-2012, 10:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrawmer View Post
Yeah it makes total sense, and if your findings show 1k per plane (i assume?) difference, then that's great... On the downside, that would be 2-3 days+ of playing time just to make the cost of setting that up, back!

By the way guys - feel free to add me on GC!

jdrawmer
I'm hoping that a 2-3 day stall here helps in the longhaul. Insignificant over the course of 2 months

Plus also wanted to offer up the idea if anyone hasn't fully build the standard LA to Asia route so they can save the money if they choose to do so before getting really invested

~Nimble Quest~
3 Star Characters: Arcane
Arena Record: 320

Last edited by mwadsit; 06-28-2012 at 10:49 AM.
06-28-2012, 10:55 AM
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 23
Thanks :-)
06-28-2012, 11:03 AM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 470
Send a message via Skype™ to jdrawmer
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwadsit View Post
I'm hoping that a 2-3 day stall here helps in the longhaul. Insignificant over the course of 2 months

Plus also wanted to offer up the idea if anyone hasn't fully build the standard LA to Asia route so they can save the money if they choose to do so before getting really invested
Yeah I do think it's a good idea, well spotted. I might invest myself a little later down the line - perhaps when i've got the planes I want to have (3 Cloudbusters and 2 Cyclones) running the main routes so I don't need to worry about coins for anything else.

I've got 5 planes running my main route now and things are going ace!
06-28-2012, 11:06 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrawmer View Post
First of all, IF you take a job from shanghai to tokyo and then back again and unload it, it won't be a layover - or at least in my experience. It seems to remember where the job originated!

Secondly, yes - I do chuck my bux around, because I have about 6 planes that just run around picking up jobs so I know, eventually, a plane will reach it and pick it up.
Interesting. I'll have to pay more attention next time!
What usually happens it I just take the Bux to the next city the plane is going to and drop it off. It's always a pleasant surprise when another plane passes thru and discovers the layover, esp if it helps make the next leg a 25% bonus trip.

10 Bux is the highest I have seen so far. I wonder if it gets better.