★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.
07-13-2012, 03:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 608
FYI: I have to turn on my iCade, launch the game, press the home key out back to springboard and go back into MS3 for it to work. Works great after that.

I did run into one problem last night, the iCade seemed sluggish, almost inputting the wrong buttons at a point. This was fixed by going to springboard, turning iCade off, then back on, hopping back into MS3. Odd. Never had this happen on iCade or iCade Mobile before. Still works though
07-13-2012, 05:31 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,958
the heroes are the same or have some differences?

07-13-2012, 07:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simmi View Post
Each levels are superb. I played it again and again. I like this game so much.
And don't forget to look for alternate routes!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINMS14 View Post
Meh, give me metal slug anthology for $15 and tou have an instant buy, why $7 or only ms3? I'll pass. Wasnt there an ios specific metal slug on the app store? I remember I almost bought it too lol
Your purchase might encourage more to come out. This is seriously one of the better, most handcrafted ports on the iOS.
07-13-2012, 07:52 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 13,409
Send a message via MSN to syntheticvoid
WOOHOO!!!

Was FINALLY able to spend some time with this one today... and WOW!!! The game looks ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC on my iPad 2! Love the graphics!

The controls are also pretty damn good... love that you can adjust them. I haven't run into any section where my fingers were covering up any of the gameplay areas to where I couldn't see what I was shooting at or where I was moving. Your character tends to stay pretty much in the middle of the screen (horizon-wise, not vertical...)

The gameplay is fantastic... I'm totally psyched to be able to play this whenever I want now... laying in bed, in the car... every time I have 5 minutes. =oD

:;:CURRENT 'FAVORITES' FOLDER:;:
Bring Me Sandwiches, Phoenix HD, .Decluster Zero, Goblin Sword
:;:GAMECENTER ID:;:
syntheticvoid (please say you're from TA)
07-13-2012, 08:05 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 744
Full Retina (Scanlines Off, Filtering Disabled, 4:3 Enabled)

Vasoline Enabled (Scanlines Off, Filtering Enabled, 4:3 Enabled)

and my preferred way to play, for now:

Full Retina w/Scanlines
(Scanlines On (50%), Filtering Disabled, 4:3 Enabled)

Just for the record, I think it's a mistake to show the vasoline enabled images on the app store, and there's a bug where your video settings will get reset when restarting the app.
07-14-2012, 02:34 AM
Joined: May 2010
Location: Deepest Circle, Hell
Posts: 7,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by soldat7 View Post
Full Retina (Scanlines Off, Filtering Disabled, 4:3 Enabled)

Vasoline Enabled (Scanlines Off, Filtering Enabled, 4:3 Enabled)

and my preferred way to play, for now:

Full Retina w/Scanlines
(Scanlines On (50%), Filtering Disabled, 4:3 Enabled)

Just for the record, I think it's a mistake to show the vasoline enabled images on the app store, and there's a bug where your video settings will get reset when restarting the app.
Thanks for posting the pics. Saw Sumo's post and then got caught up. :/ Yeah, the third pic is basically how I play too, but I use 16:9 rather than 4:3.

Oh, and DotEmu are aware of the settings bug and have said it would be taken care of in the first update.

"I am virgin, I'm a whore! Giving nothing; the taker, the maker of war!" - Black Sabbath, "I"
07-14-2012, 12:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by syntheticvoid View Post
I haven't run into any section where my fingers were covering up any of the gameplay areas to where I couldn't see what I was shooting at or where I was moving.
you play on ipad, it must be better then.
07-14-2012, 01:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 13,409
Send a message via MSN to syntheticvoid
Yeah, I just tried it out on my iPod this morning, and now see what you guys are talking about... =o/

:;:CURRENT 'FAVORITES' FOLDER:;:
Bring Me Sandwiches, Phoenix HD, .Decluster Zero, Goblin Sword
:;:GAMECENTER ID:;:
syntheticvoid (please say you're from TA)
07-14-2012, 01:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 181
Loving this game so far, but even on easy mode I'm getting my behind handed to me. I think easy mode gives you about 3 continues or so. Is there any way to increase the continues after they've been used up? Can't get past the third level! Help!
07-14-2012, 01:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 10,680
Still can't get my icade working with this

Still love the game though!

Last edited by psj3809; 07-14-2012 at 01:26 PM.