★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

what hardware/osx do you use?

06-05-2009, 06:28 AM
#1
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 41
what hardware/osx do you use?

kind of a "oh dear" moment just now. i finished with uni today, rushed over to the games lab with gayfull glee to start looking at iphone sdk and objective c and all that, started reading the apple dev site and apprantly you need osx leapard to use it, the g3 imac i bought a little while ago only has osx 10.3.9

is anyone developing on anything other than leopard? can it be done? is it possible to use a pc?
06-05-2009, 06:51 AM
#2
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 731
3G iMac? Whoa, we're talking about some seriously outdated hardware I'm afraid. You actually need an intel Mac + Leopard. As for PC, well there's always the legaly dubious Hackintosh-route, but I wouldn't recommend it personally.

Perhaps you could scrape together enough cash for a second-hand mac mini (Intel)?

06-05-2009, 07:41 AM
#3
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 41
**** **** and bollocks it all to buggery, you need an intel processer as well. thieving bastard apple ****s AARGRGRJHHGHHJJHSKFBskdblksdblksdbl
06-05-2009, 08:14 AM
#4
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 731
I feel your pain man, but I don't think Apple's being particularly a*al in this respect. They anounced the transition to Intel 2005 and didn't open the iPhone developer program until 2008 and by then it was obvious that PPC was not a part of Apple's future.

Not that this helps you in any way what-so-ever. So, again sorry for your troubles...
06-05-2009, 09:56 AM
#5
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 430
Just grab a MacMini, it's brilliantly powerful and will run Xcode and everyone else you need just fine. It's probably 10 to 20 times faster than that G3 of yours (and man, the G3 was a brilliant computer).

I've made a lot of games. You've played them.
06-05-2009, 10:09 AM
#6
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickFalk View Post
3G iMac? Whoa, we're talking about some seriously outdated hardware I'm afraid. You actually need an intel Mac + Leopard. As for PC, well there's always the legaly dubious Hackintosh-route, but I wouldn't recommend it personally.

Perhaps you could scrape together enough cash for a second-hand mac mini (Intel)?
I have to agree with him not to try the hackintosh route unless you know your pc works with it, I didn't and my computer was broken for several weeks before I got it fixed, along with the fact that I lost everything I had on it except for what was on my ipod.

Beta tested: Parallelus, Galactic Gunner, Crazy Snowboard, IMO
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPodder View Post
What? They make games for the iPhone/iPod Touch?
lmao
06-05-2009, 11:34 AM
#7
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 41
i have a pc up to spec sitting in the corner not doing anything so ill try the hackintosh first. i did just try to buy a mac mini but i wasnt allowed to get finance on account of being a student. i had no intention on using finance as i have the money but being denied just pissed me off so i didnt get it
06-05-2009, 12:17 PM
#8
We use a 2008 Mac Pro on Leopard 10.5.7.

Visit us at http://www.touchsmiths.com!
Follow us on Twitter!
Tipix 1.3 is OUT NOW! Loco Moto is OUT NOW!
06-05-2009, 04:59 PM
#9
Joined: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool mr croc View Post
i have a pc up to spec sitting in the corner not doing anything so ill try the hackintosh first. i did just try to buy a mac mini but i wasnt allowed to get finance on account of being a student. i had no intention on using finance as i have the money but being denied just pissed me off so i didnt get it
I've had mixed experience with Hackintosh. I tried for a while to turn a relatively new Dell Inspiron Laptop into one. Got it sort of working (all but sound), got forced to update to the next version (10.5.5 I think) by the iPhone SDK's requirements which broke graphic acceleration and networking... The next day I went and bought a macbook.

Since then a close friend built a PC out of two year old bits that were a closer match to the hardware (Intel Motherboard chipset, the right sort of NVidia card etc.) and he got OSX running flawlessly with almost no hacking. It's also a lot easier if you have a little mac experience. Editing kext files wasn't a nice introduction to a new OS...

-=< Fat Owl With A Jetpack >=-
-=< Topia World Builder >=-
-=< Twitter >=-
-=< Blog >=-
06-11-2009, 01:30 PM
#10
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 41
does anyone know if you can install the sdk on a portable drive on one mac, then use the hard drive on another mac and still be able to use the sdk? what if the instalation was done on a mini mac and the computers its used on after are imacs?

reason i ask is im getting a mini mac soon but i have people who would like to work on the projects that dont have macs, we do have access to new imacs at uni but they wont have the sdk. was thinking about using my mini mac and install the sdk on portable drives for them to use at uni.

possible? or do i have to write a grovelling letter to the IT department?