Support our Sponsors:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-13-2012, 01:43 AM
x999x x999x is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 3G, OS 3.x
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 607
Default

Crossing fingers devs sort this out, but since its very grey zone to begin with on the App Store, I guess only time will tell.

I'm at least having fun with iMame (non jailbroken i5), but at least its something...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-13-2012, 01:59 AM
Royce Royce is offline
Senior Member
iPad mini
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,412
Default

WTF is with the mapping? I was so gonna buy one, but will pass given that information. Who wants to play games almost entirely with start, select and shoulder buttons. They must not have researched games compatible with their own friggin device at all.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-13-2012, 03:06 AM
x999x x999x is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 3G, OS 3.x
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 607
Default

There has got to be some reason behind their logic. All I know is that iCade and iCade mobile with iMame has some serious button issues, and it forced me to use iFBA as a result.

In iMame you can't move right and press a button with the red keys, nothing happens on the iCade and iCade mobile. Oddly, the same issue does not exist on the Bitty with iMame at all, it works as intended.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-17-2012, 12:51 PM
jaaron jaaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
Default

I've tested out a couple of games, and yes, for most of them, I'm not using the red buttons at all. Almost everything uses the 'start' and 'select' buttons. It's crazy.

I believe this is just lazy work by the developers. The 8-Bitty is only marketed by iCade and doesn't seem to have been developed with any participation by Ion.

I'm just hoping we'll see more developers offer button configuration settings for iCade modes. I'd like that regardless of the 8-Bitty.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-21-2012, 03:53 AM
Mirkwood Mirkwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 196
Default

It seems silly to me that you wouldn't be able to create custom control layouts with this.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-29-2012, 09:14 AM
psj3809 psj3809 is offline
Moderator
iPhone 4S, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 9,060
Default

Well finally got my 8-bitty today, my fault as i went for the cheap slow postage from US-UK.

Anyway so far really enjoying it. For iMAME which is the main app i want to use it with, its fine, it uses the 'red buttons' and its great. Used it with Spectaculator and it used the shoulder button which wasnt great but i might be able to change that in the Speccy app.

Couldnt get it working with the Atari app but i'll try again later, played a bit of Meganoid on it which was fine (red buttons).

So far so good, for the price i think its great. Love the retro nod towards the NES control pad and also the Atari VCS (fake wooden stickers round the side).
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-21-2013, 02:41 PM
DistantJ's Avatar
DistantJ DistantJ is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 393
Default

Has this thing been popular at all? The mapping is terrible, I was going to buy one for the purposes of playing games with but nothing's going to work with this mapping...

I'm currently working on iCade support in MANOS and AWESOME Land, and I'm trying to lay the buttons out in a way that they work on both iCade and 8-bitty, but taking the 8-bitty layout into consideration then messes the mapping up for the people with iControlPads and the like...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-22-2013, 05:29 PM
Connector Connector is offline
Banned
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the Chatroom
Posts: 15,759
Default

I was going to buy this yesterday, went to Amazon, and its not there. Is there only one place on the web to buy one? I was kind of hoping to get it off of Amazon cause I have a lot of gc credit. Do you think it will ever go to amazon? There's no stores that sell it right like Target? Thanks, just want to buy one without using a credit card.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-23-2013, 02:54 PM
DistantJ's Avatar
DistantJ DistantJ is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 393
Default

I saw it on Amazon UK...

Can anybody tell me if this controller can be connected to Windows for PC gaming?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-23-2013, 03:59 PM
drelbs drelbs is offline
👮 Spam Police 🚓
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DistantJ View Post
I saw it on Amazon UK...

Can anybody tell me if this controller can be connected to Windows for PC gaming?
You can, just like the iCade it shows up as a keyboard.

What makes it difficult to use though, is that instead of holding down a direction (say up) it sends an "up" then a "not up" when you release. Saves on transmission and power I think. Means you have to run an interface between the iCade and your game instead of just mapping keyboard controls (unless you want to tap away like mad, Frogger style! )

I'll have to poke around again, but the last time I looked there wasn't an easy plug-n-play PC solution for it, people were programming GlovePIE or something to translate things.

EDIT: This page explains it well...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent