★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Safari/iPod freezing with 3.0 on 1st gen touch

06-20-2009, 03:40 AM
#1
👮 Spam Police 🚓 [Original Poster]
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,481
Safari/iPod freezing with 3.0 on 1st gen touch

Is anyone else having major problems with the 3.0 firmware on their 1st gen iPod touch? It was working well for a little while (a few hours) and then Safari started freezing. Any time I try to go to a web site, any web site, not only does Safari get stuck, but usually my entire iPod gets frozen. The only thing I can do is force it to shut down/restart by holding power and home. After coming back up Safari still does the same thing. I'm currently in the processing of doing a restore and will see if that fixes it. Has anyone else run into this problem?
06-22-2009, 09:33 AM
#2
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Yes, this same thing has happened to me except safari doesn't load anything at all. Such a pain. Have you found an answer to this problem? I hope Apple does some major work on this... after surfing the interent I've found that many people are having problems with the update, relating to other things besides Safari not working properly.
06-22-2009, 09:50 AM
#3
👮 Spam Police 🚓 [Original Poster]
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,481
Yes - I did a restore (from backup) and now my 1st gen iPod is working great with 3.0. Just make sure you choose to restore from your backup so you don't lose any data! And allot quite a bit of time if you have a lot of stuff. Also note that the restore process is annoying in that it will first install the firmware and only then it asks if you want to restore from backup or set up as a new iPod. The firmware install takes maybe 5 minutes or so - I didn't time it. But then you've got hours of restoring all your apps, songs, pictures, data, etc. So don't just start the restore and go to sleep or you'll be extremely disappointed to find freshly installed firmware, but the much longer remaining part of the restore to go!
06-22-2009, 02:30 PM
#4
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Oh my gosh, thank you so much!! I couldn't find a way to fix this problem anywhere else... and I'm very surprised this worked so easily. No data was lost and it only took about an hour or so. 3.0 is pretty cool when it's working right! Thanks again for your help.