★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Lost Edge progress randomly

06-24-2009, 11:11 PM
#1
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: the next whiskey bar
Posts: 5,549
Lost Edge progress randomly

so I just installed the Edge update and played level 44. I quit the app to do other stuff, cameback and launched Edge again, and bam, it erased all my saved data and I lost all my scores and have to start over.
Didthis happen to anyone else?
06-24-2009, 11:13 PM
#2
Joined: May 2009
Location: Dirty Stallis
Posts: 142
Yep it happened to me, i had A's in the first 40 levels


06-24-2009, 11:18 PM
#3
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: the next whiskey bar
Posts: 5,549
I had S/S+'s forthe first 30
Oh well, I got a reason to play Edge again.
06-25-2009, 12:04 AM
#4
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 722
Same here, played 1 new level and then quit. Looks like it wipes your file on exit, WTF Mobigame!

...I still might replay it. Maybe I'll wait for the next update or two to restart if you have to collect all the shineys again to get to the new levels.



Edit - Idea! I'll have Kevin do it for me, he hasn't played through it at all yet
06-25-2009, 02:09 AM
#5
Quote:
Originally Posted by wootbean View Post
so I just installed the Edge update and played level 44. I quit the app to do other stuff, cameback and launched Edge again, and bam, it erased all my saved data and I lost all my scores and have to start over.
Didthis happen to anyone else?
Hi guys

I did not know about this bug, really sorry
maybe it is because you are quitting the game while it is saving your progress (just after you beat a level, and before the debrief screen). There is a way to do that properly on the iPhone, I will investigate.
06-25-2009, 02:29 AM
#6
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 722
Thanks for noticing the thread ^^ Love the game of course, it was the first thing I got for my 3GS. Here's what happened to me in detail, if it helps.

- DL'd update
- Start. Activate sound. File previously had all 43 levels finished, all prisms collected, but most were far from S ranked
- Played level 44, all prisms collected, D or C rank, something low :P
- Pressed the new 'Menu' button in the upper right at debrief
- Possibly might have gone back to level select and looked around. Didn't start another level.
- Quit via Home button
06-25-2009, 02:55 AM
#7
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecowgoesmoo View Post
Thanks for noticing the thread ^^ Love the game of course, it was the first thing I got for my 3GS. Here's what happened to me in detail, if it helps.

- DL'd update
- Start. Activate sound. File previously had all 43 levels finished, all prisms collected, but most were far from S ranked
- Played level 44, all prisms collected, D or C rank, something low :P
- Pressed the new 'Menu' button in the upper right at debrief
- Possibly might have gone back to level select and looked around. Didn't start another level.
- Quit via Home button
thanks

your progress from EDGE 1.1 will be updated the first time you launch EDGE 1.2. But it seems there is a little bug in this process. If you install EDGE 1.2 you will loose your progress the second time you start it. But after that all will be ok, you can play it again and you will not loose your progress

I have submitted EDGE 1.21, the bug is fixed is this version, and if you update from EDGE 1.2 or EDGE 1.1 you will not loose your progress

really sorry for that, I hope the review process will be faster and more efficient this time
for new users, or users who have only EDGE 1.0 this bug does not apply. but if you already have EDGE 1.1, wait for EDGE 1.21