Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2012, 10:23 AM
killercow's Avatar
killercow killercow is offline
Moderator
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 3,114
Default KnightScape (Universal app By Mojaro)




Low bandwidth Version | Pop Up


Looks interesting, made by the former Medal of Honor and Uncharted AI chief Laurent Ancessi.

Last edited by killercow; 12-05-2012 at 10:25 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2012, 10:42 AM
strivemind strivemind is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 2,595
Default

Tried it out. It's basically Temple Run on easy mode.

The graphics are great, but there are other clones that look better.

- Touch controls are VERY forgiving, timing wise.
- You have a large health bar which takes a hit if you fail to pass a obstacle. Depending on what you hit, this could be as much as 10 times with just the default starter armor.
- Turns are made automatically, no input required.

Items to improve your character come at a very steep cost. Roughly $12 for the most expensive armor or $10 for the sword.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:08 AM
Exact-Psience Exact-Psience is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 15,984
Default

Looks instaget to me. If it's a TR clone, what's with the combat described in the video?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:32 AM
strivemind strivemind is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 2,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exact-Psience View Post
Looks instaget to me. If it's a TR clone, what's with the combat described in the video?
Combat is pretty limited. You're basically doing your Temple Run thing, and occasionally stop for a quick Infinity Blade-ish battle. One button to block, one for horizontal attack, and another for vertical. It's pretty easy.

Oh, forgot to mention earlier that there is also a IAP energy system. They're called "Extra Plays" but actually get used up anytime you start/restart a level. You're typical wait a while and it will recharge, or purchase more immediately.

- Loading times are incredibly long.
- no fast app switching
- I'm not far, but levels are short so far
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:39 AM
Exact-Psience Exact-Psience is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 15,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strivemind View Post
Combat is pretty limited. You're basically doing your Temple Run thing, and occasionally stop for a quick Infinity Blade-ish battle. One button to block, one for horizontal attack, and another for vertical. It's pretty easy.

Oh, forgot to mention earlier that there is also a IAP energy system. They're called "Extra Plays" but actually get used up anytime you start/restart a level. You're typical wait a while and it will recharge, or purchase more immediately.

- Loading times are incredibly long.
- no fast app switching
- I'm not far, but levels are short so far
That doesnt sound too promising...

Thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:56 AM
Eoghann Eoghann is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 1,152
Default

Aside from the incredible load times (took almost a full minute), is it just me or this game is a massive resource hog?

I closed all my apps and did a fresh reboot before launching the game. With a fresh phone, I started it up, when it finally loaded, everything looks like a stop motion film. Frame rate drops, entire phone slows down. I used those memory monitors and it said I had 50MB of ram available with the game running. Out of the 300 I usually have. Yowza!

Can't say for sure about the controls not being responsive, could be related to insufficient memory.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:03 PM
EnterNexus EnterNexus is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 132
Default

Unplayable on iPod Touch 4G, for anyone interested to know. Not only is the graphic non retina but it's still such a massive hog that the ram can't handle it. If you are really persistent, perhaps you ll get it to work; but it ll probably lag like crazy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:13 PM
Eoghann Eoghann is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 1,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNexus View Post
Unplayable on iPod Touch 4G, for anyone interested to know. Not only is the graphic non retina but it's still such a massive hog that the ram can't handle it. If you are really persistent, perhaps you ll get it to work; but it ll probably lag like crazy
Glad to know its not just me. I tried a second time after a reboot and this time it went down to 36 MB of available RAM, out of 280!

Too bad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:15 PM
strivemind strivemind is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 2,595
Default

Ran fine on my 3rd gen iPad, and yes the loading times are long. Even loading the menu takes a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:17 PM
DannyTheElite DannyTheElite is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Area 51
Posts: 2,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eoghann View Post
Aside from the incredible load times (took almost a full minute), is it just me or this game is a massive resource hog?

I closed all my apps and did a fresh reboot before launching the game. With a fresh phone, I started it up, when it finally loaded, everything looks like a stop motion film. Frame rate drops, entire phone slows down. I used those memory monitors and it said I had 50MB of ram available with the game running. Out of the 300 I usually have. Yowza!

Can't say for sure about the controls not being responsive, could be related to insufficient memory.
Can you get a free app to check ram ?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent