Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-07-2012, 03:38 AM
nahsik nahsik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Just started playing vice city but that's going to be on a pause now with this game. Can't wait.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-07-2012, 03:53 AM
spajdr spajdr is online now
Senior Member
iPad Air 2, iOS 8.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Czech Republic, Ostrava
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to spajdr
Default

So unless you have Jailbreaked Ipad 1, you cant play it, due to IOS 6.0 requirements.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-07-2012, 03:59 AM
soup soup is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,512
Default

also not happy about the ios 6 requirements.
- strange they did this.

do not want to update, so basically bye bye baldur's gate.

Shame but 1 game does not compensate for rubbish maps.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:11 AM
LCDDreams LCDDreams is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 384
Default

Woohoo! Installed and running! AND I just happened to take the day off tomorrow and Monday! So long life for the next four days.

Started the Black Pits. Ha, the Baeloth character reminds me of the Joker.

Last edited by LCDDreams; 12-07-2012 at 04:17 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:19 AM
dannythefool dannythefool is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 363
Default

There were a few tweets about out of memory issues on iPad 1. Remember it only has 256 MB while every other iPad has at least twice as much. Maybe they dind't manage to fix them and just wanted to release.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:31 AM
Isilel Isilel is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 998
Default

iOS6?! Damn, I have been waiting for BG EE since forever and intended to buy day 1, but I really don't want to upgrade... Is it an anti-piracy measure or a means to exclude iPad 1, so as to side-step the problems with it? I.e. are they likely to include iOS 5 retroactively?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:38 AM
pjft pjft is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 703
Default

Hm... Indeed, I was curious about the iOS6.0 thingie, but it might be because they haven't fixed iPad 1s problems.

After all, if this is going to be compatible with the iPad 1, it needs to run lower than iOS 6. They wouldn't be posting about the iPad 1 for so long if that wasn't the plan.

I'll patiently wait for it to be released for a previous version.

If someone's on Twitter, you can ask the devs about iOS 6, though.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:40 AM
Darkwalker Darkwalker is offline
Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 30
Default

Not working faking the iOS version to 6 (edit systemversion plist file)

So please devs, I want to give you my money, but please add 5.1.1 compatibility!

Last edited by Darkwalker; 12-07-2012 at 04:43 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:50 AM
ravippe ravippe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Well i got the game and im pretty happy with it. Im a first time player. I found the tutorial a little confusing. Took me about an hour to get through it. I couldnt find out how to thieve. Took me 20 minutes. I think the baulders gate icons are stupid and confusing. No fault to this game its just the way they made it before i guess.I also dont like how you cant find out what type of spells you have and the effects like you can with weapons. You have to select the question mark icon while your character is selected to see spells. I dunno if im missing something but a bit confusing. Why isnt there a list instead of picto hyroglyphics in the spell book. How am i gonna know that a tablet with a 1 is summon monster level 1? Do i have to memorize the spells first then try them all to see what they do?

But once you get into the game its like ultima. Nice. I play it for an hour and itchy to play again. Its got a bit of a learning curve though fair warning. I like the graphics but it does get a little spotty when you zoom in too much. Also the lack of voices only 3 females and 3 males. Kinda low i think. Im busy killing cows in town. I give it a 4 star rating overall.

Seems pretty stable also, no glitches. The icons on the right for select entire party and zoom icon to show all selectable chests is really helpful.

I dunno about the in app purchases. I get the 2 characters fine, but the portrait pack? 10 average bland pics? Seems like you get better ones with the basic package already. They should make it like 50 since your buying a jpg image essensially.

I found that skipping the iap was a smart move. Im a first time player, i was ready to drop my money but its kinda a waste. I may try the other characters after this first run.

Last edited by ravippe; 12-07-2012 at 04:53 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-07-2012, 05:00 AM
link6616 link6616 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 14
Default

I'm a little saddened that it's not iPad 1 compatible... but, oh well... I guess I'll get an ipad 5 when that comes out...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent